Transvaal v Eastern Province
SuperSport Series 1996/97
VenueNew Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg on 13th, 14th, 15th, 16th December 1996 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossTransvaal won the toss and decided to bat
ResultTransvaal won by 160 runs
PointsTransvaal 18 (Batting 4, Bowling 4); Eastern Province 6 (Batting 3, Bowling 3)
UmpiresR Brooks, DL Orchard
Close of play day 1Transvaal (1) 302/8 (Eksteen 7*, Lyle 2*; 104 overs)
Close of play day 2Transvaal (2) 3/0 (Bacher 2*, Benfield 1*; 3 overs)
Close of play day 3Transvaal (2) 272/3 (McKenzie 53*, Laing 22*)
Man of the MatchDR Laing

Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AM Bacherlbw b Botha1324322- 
MR Benfieldlbw b Baptiste2258803- 
ND McKenziec Baptiste b Ferreira1631323- 
*KR Rutherfordlbw b Ferreira82447-- 
DR Laingc Shaw b Hayward12822927719- 
+N Pothasc Wessels b Baptiste1650622- 
RE Veenstrab Botha1142541- 
AJ Hallc Shaw b Botha6011515813- 
CE Eksteenc Morgan b Baptiste22607011 
RA Lylec Morgan b Baptiste104861-1 
EW Kidwellnot out712161- 
Extras(4 b, 7 lb, 5 nb, 5 w)21
Total(all out, 114.4 overs)334
Fall of wickets:
1-20 (Bacher), 2-48 (McKenzie), 3-60 (Benfield), 4-77 (Rutherford), 5-117 (Pothas), 6-153 (Veenstra), 7-280 (Laing), 8-297 (Hall), 9-327 (Eksteen), 10-334 (Lyle)
Eastern Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hayward28   21081--
Botha26   8523--
Ferreira16   1422--
Shaw15   1440--
Callaghan3   1120--

Eastern Province first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PG Ammrun out (Pothas->Eksteen)1231393- 
MW Rushmerelbw b Veenstra431401875- 
LJ Koenb Kidwell047-- 
*KC Wesselsb Eksteen51891006- 
DJ Callaghanb Veenstra521271- 
+G Morgannot out651141667- 
EAE Baptistec Bacher b Eksteen1643511- 
TG Shawb Hall37607241 
LD Bothalbw b Veenstra41012-- 
Q Ferreiralbw b Veenstra69101- 
M Haywardb Veenstra156-- 
Extras(3 b, 3 lb, 12 nb, 3 w)21
Total(all out, 85.2 overs)261
Fall of wickets:
1-26 (Amm), 2-27 (Koen), 3-100 (Wessels), 4-125 (Callaghan), 5-126 (Rushmere), 6-168 (Baptiste), 7-246 (Shaw), 8-253 (Botha), 9-259 (Ferreira), 10-261 (Hayward)
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kidwell20   5491--
Lyle10   0440--
Eksteen26   4762--
Hall11   3301--
Laing3   0200--

Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AM Bacherc Koen b Botha114199252162 
MR Benfieldlbw b Baptiste431301865- 
ND McKenzienot out5313214841 
*KR Rutherfordrun out (Hayward->Morgan)2129512- 
DR Laingnot out2228302- 
+N Pothasdid not bat      
RE Veenstradid not bat      
AJ Halldid not bat      
CE Eksteendid not bat      
RA Lyledid not bat      
EW Kidwelldid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 9 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)19
Total(3 wickets, declared, 86 overs)272
Fall of wickets:
1-144 (Benfield), 2-190 (Bacher), 3-239 (Rutherford)
Eastern Province bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Baptiste21   3571--
Hayward15   4440--
Ferreira5   2180--
Botha15   1471--
Shaw30   7900--

Eastern Province second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MW Rushmerec Eksteen b Hall1765811- 
PG Ammc Pothas b Kidwell139-- 
LJ Koenc McKenzie b Kidwell75107156101 
*KC Wesselsb Eksteen42331-- 
DJ Callaghanlbw b Veenstra341221313- 
+G Morganlbw b Eksteen43040-- 
EAE Baptistest Pothas b Eksteen1220321- 
TG Shawnot out19324721 
LD Bothalbw b Veenstra011-- 
Q Ferreirarun out (Lyle->Eksteen)930311- 
M Haywardb Eksteen058-- 
Extras(3 b, 6 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(all out, 72.4 overs)185
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (Amm), 2-53 (Rushmere), 3-71 (Wessels), 4-123 (Koen), 5-134 (Morgan), 6-156 (Baptiste), 7-156 (Callaghan), 8-156 (Botha), 9-178 (Ferreira), 10-185 (Hayward)
Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kidwell17   6402--
Lyle7   0250--
Veenstra15   8212--
Hall8   4161--

--> MR Benfield (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 17
--> KR Rutherford (1) passed 11500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 2
--> DR Laing (1) passed his previous highest score of 107 in first-class matches
--> AJ Hall (1) passed his previous highest score of 48 in first-class matches
--> G Morgan (1) passed his previous highest score of 60 in first-class matches
--> AM Bacher (2) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 24





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive