Glamorgan v Surrey
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1996
VenueSophia Gardens, Cardiff on 12th, 13th, 14th, 16th September 1996 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsGlamorgan 9 (Batting 4, Bowling 2); Surrey 11 (Batting 4, Bowling 4)
UmpiresJC Balderstone, A Clarkson
Close of play day 1Glamorgan (1) 351/9 (Watkin 3*, Parkin 10*)
Close of play day 2Surrey (1) 273/4 (Shahid 66*, Hollioake 45*)
Close of play day 3Glamorgan (2) 218/3 (James 84*, Cottey 64*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SP Jamesc DJ Bicknell b MP Bicknell42628-- 
H Morrisc Stewart b Lewis619291- 
DL Hemplbw b MP Bicknell4761887- 
*MP Maynardc Pearson b Benjamin8212013213- 
PA Cotteylbw b DJ Bicknell25871133- 
A Daleb Pearson9016718310- 
+AD Shawb Benjamin1947572- 
RDB Croftb Pearson2567833- 
DA Coskerlbw b Julian01014-- 
SL Watkinnot out82729-- 
OT Parkinc Stewart b Lewis1215152- 
Extras(9 lb, 32 nb, 5 w)46
Total(all out, 111.2 overs)364
Fall of wickets:
1-14 (James), 2-14 (Morris), 3-123 (Hemp), 4-166 (Maynard), 5-208 (Cottey), 6-279 (Shaw), 7-317 (Dale), 8-322 (Cosker), 9-336 (Croft), 10-364 (Parkin)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
MP Bicknell19   8492--
Julian15   3541-4
Benjamin20   453212
Pearson21   6592--
DJ Bicknell15   0541--

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DJ Bicknellst Shaw b Croft30105993- 
MA Butcherc Maynard b Cosker31811033- 
*+AJ Stewartrun out103345-- 
GP Thorpec Morris b Watkin771591759- 
N Shahidlbw b Watkin7918724813- 
AJ Hollioakec Morris b Watkin51821015- 
CC Lewisb Cosker5772945- 
BP Julianlbw b Cosker4151514- 
MP Bicknellnot out59444354 
JE Benjaminc Parkin b Cosker5681- 
RM Pearsonnot out81071- 
Extras(11 b, 8 lb, 4 nb)23
Total(9 wickets, declared, 138 overs)471
Fall of wickets:
1-69 (DJ Bicknell), 2-71 (Butcher), 3-102 (Stewart), 4-201 (Thorpe), 5-291 (Hollioake), 6-296 (Shahid), 7-383 (Julian), 8-426 (Lewis), 9-448 (Benjamin)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Watkin26   4853--
Parkin14   3550-1
Croft56   111581-1
Cosker34   101424--
Dale8   4120--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SP Jamesc Thorpe b Shahid13129836516- 
H Morrisc Stewart b Julian17     
DL Hempb Benjamin8     
*MP Maynardc Lewis b Pearson16     
PA Cotteyb Shahid83     
A Dalec Stewart b Shahid11     
+AD Shawc Lewis b Butcher74     
RDB Croftc Lewis b Butcher38     
DA Coskernot out8     
SL Watkinc sub b Butcher0     
OT Parkinnot out8     
Extras(5 b, 20 lb, 18 nb, 5 w)48
Total(9 wickets, declared, 124 overs)442
Fall of wickets:
1-47 (Morris), 2-56 (Hemp), 3-94 (Maynard), 4-262 (Cottey), 5-286 (James), 6-311 (Dale), 7-390 (Croft), 8-434 (Shaw), 9-434 (Watkin)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
MP Bicknell12   2370--
Lewis14   4460--
Julian8   1401--
Benjamin10   2251--
Hollioake5   1120--
Pearson34   7881--
DJ Bicknell5   0260--
Shahid29   5963--
Butcher5   0233--
Stewart2   0240--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BP Julianc Hemp b Watkin021-- 
MA Butcherc Shaw b Parkin9522- 
AJ Hollioakelbw b Croft85707783 
CC Lewisst Shaw b Croft4028286- 
MP Bicknellc and b Croft273-- 
DJ Bicknellnot out271181115- 
*+AJ Stewartc Cottey b Cosker22218-- 
GP Thorpec Hemp b Cosker1028211- 
N Shahidnot out2425243- 
JE Benjamindid not bat      
RM Pearsondid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 2 nb)6
Total(7 wickets, 50.4 overs)205
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Julian), 2-15 (Butcher), 3-84 (Lewis), 4-88 (Benjamin), 5-154 (Hollioake), 6-157 (Stewart), 7-171 (Thorpe)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Parkin3   0421-1
Croft22   6493--
Cosker20   6802--
Maynard1   100--
Cottey1   040--

--> Surrey score at 120 overs in the first innings was 359-6
--> MP Maynard (1) passed 17000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 12
--> GP Thorpe (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 54
--> CC Lewis (1) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 47
--> SP James (2) passed 8500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 11
--> PA Cottey (2) passed 9000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 26
--> AD Shaw (2) passed his previous highest score of 53 in first-class matches
--> AD Shaw (2) passed his previous highest score of 53 in County Championship matches
--> GP Thorpe (2) passed 8000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 10





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive