Nottinghamshire v Leicestershire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1996
VenueTrent Bridge, Nottingham on 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th September 1996 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNottinghamshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 6 wickets
PointsNottinghamshire 6 (Batting 3, Bowling 3); Leicestershire 24 (Batting 4, Bowling 4)
UmpiresBJ Meyer, AGT Whitehead
ScorerGA York (Leicestershire)
Close of play day 1Nottinghamshire (1) 320/9 (Noon 38*, Afford 1*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (1) 341/5 (Whitaker 116*, Nixon 5*)
Close of play day 3Nottinghamshire (2) 189/8 (Tolley 45*, Bowen 11*)

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PR Pollardc Parsons b Millns51181- 
RT Robinsonc Nixon b Simmons1876881- 
GF Archerc Millns b Simmons3261765- 
*P Johnsonrun out2742622- 
MP Dowmanc Whitaker b Brimson1952632- 
CM Tolleyb Pierson401051247- 
KP Evanslbw b Pierson711361338- 
+WM Noonlbw b Parsons421041244- 
RT Batesc Simmons b Pierson3146535- 
MN Bowenc Nixon b Simmons1421232- 
JA Affordnot out11132-- 
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 16 nb, 1 w)24
Total(all out, 109.3 overs)324
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Pollard), 2-64 (Archer), 3-64 (Robinson), 4-111 (Johnson), 5-111 (Dowman), 6-228 (Tolley), 7-231 (Evans), 8-287 (Bates), 9-304 (Bowen), 10-324 (Noon)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Millns20   46911-
Simmons26   7643-4
Wells10   4230--
Brimson15   3521--
Pierson14   2313--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VJ Wellsc Bates b Dowman11918323419- 
DL Maddyc Archer b Bates2875823- 
*JJ Whitakerb Tolley12925531617- 
BF Smithc and b Dowman2436345- 
PV Simmonsb Bowen0610-- 
GI Macmillanb Afford2866753- 
+PA Nixonb Afford1864921- 
DJ Millnsc Bates b Tolley037-- 
GJ Parsonsc Robinson b Bates53979661 
ARK Piersonc Noon b Bowen1256731- 
MT Brimsonnot out414181- 
Extras(8 b, 4 lb, 12 nb)24
Total(all out, 141.3 overs)439
Fall of wickets:
1-61 (Maddy), 2-228 (Wells), 3-262 (Smith), 4-267 (Simmons), 5-327 (Macmillan), 6-357 (Whitaker), 7-357 (Millns), 8-387 (Nixon), 9-429 (Parsons), 10-439 (Pierson)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Evans12   4230--
Tolley25   6932--
Bates25   2882--
Afford33   7832--
Dowman14   3432--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PR Pollardb Millns514121- 
RT Robinsonlbw b Millns501221616- 
GF Archerb Simmons3163766- 
*P Johnsonc Maddy b Pierson104445-- 
MP Dowmanc Parsons b Pierson3616-- 
CM Tolleylbw b Millns46811107- 
KP Evansc Maddy b Millns158-- 
+WM Noonc Maddy b Pierson11012-- 
RT Bateslbw b Simmons816212- 
MN Bowenb Millns1554672- 
JA Affordnot out0109-- 
Extras(6 b, 10 lb, 8 nb, 2 w)26
Total(all out, 70.1 overs)196
Fall of wickets:
1-10 (Pollard), 2-65 (Archer), 3-98 (Johnson), 4-108 (Dowman), 5-110 (Robinson), 6-116 (Evans), 7-122 (Noon), 8-147 (Bates), 9-195 (Tolley), 10-196 (Bowen)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Parsons16   55401-
Simmons18   4462-3
Pierson15   3433--
Brimson3   160--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VJ Wellslbw b Bowen1328411- 
DL Maddyc and b Bowen5791- 
BF Smithc Pollard b Bowen1119162- 
*JJ Whitakernot out3029495- 
PV Simmonslbw b Bates1117161- 
GI Macmillannot out713171- 
+PA Nixondid not bat      
GJ Parsonsdid not bat      
DJ Millnsdid not bat      
ARK Piersondid not bat      
MT Brimsondid not bat      
Extras(1 lb, 4 nb)5
Total(4 wickets, 18.3 overs)82
Fall of wickets:
1-7 (Maddy), 2-25 (Smith), 3-40 (Wells), 4-59 (Simmons)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bowen8   0293-2
Tolley2   0100--
Dowman2   080--
Bates5   0211--

--> Leicestershire score at 120 overs in the first innings was 386-7
--> VJ Wells (1) passed 4000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 83
--> JJ Whitaker (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 29
--> ARK Pierson reached 250 wickets in County Championship matches when he dismissed MP Dowman, his 2nd wicket in the Nottinghamshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive