Gloucestershire v Leicestershire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1996
VenueCollege Ground, Cheltenham on 18th, 19th July 1996 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 102 runs
PointsGloucestershire 4 (Bowling 4); Leicestershire 20 (Bowling 4)
UmpiresB Dudleston, NT Plews
ScorerGA York (Leicestershire)
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (2) 80/5 (Whitaker 12*, Pierson 12*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VJ Wellslbw b Smith5971- 
DL Maddylbw b Smith31951285- 
BF Smithnot out681582409- 
PV Simmonslbw b Smith031-- 
*JJ Whitakerc Russell b Walsh513111- 
A Habibc Russell b Smith013-- 
+PA Nixonc Russell b Smith422261- 
DJ Millnsc Wright b Smith0511-- 
GJ Parsonsc Wright b Lewis1342512- 
ARK Piersonc Ball b Lewis032-- 
AD Mullallyc and b Alleyne154-- 
Extras(5 b, 10 lb, 16 nb, 1 w)32
Total(all out, 58 overs)159
Fall of wickets:
1-7 (Wells), 2-78 (Maddy), 3-78 (Simmons), 4-85 (Whitaker), 5-86 (Habib), 6-114 (Nixon), 7-120 (Millns), 8-156 (Parsons), 9-156 (Pierson), 10-159 (Mullally)
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Walsh16   3421-5
Smith18   355613
Lewis9   5192--
Alleyne11   3231--
Ball4   250--

Gloucestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MGN Windowslbw b Millns0119-- 
AJ Wrightc Simmons b Millns01519-- 
THC Hancockc Simmons b Mullally414221- 
MA Lynchc Simmons b Mullally1826453- 
A Symondslbw b Simmons32245-- 
MW Alleynec Millns b Parsons2042574- 
+RC Russellc Nixon b Simmons021-- 
MCJ Ballrun out424-- 
AM Smithc Simmons b Parsons011-- 
J Lewisb Mullally626201- 
*CA Walshnot out156-- 
Extras(2 lb, 8 nb, 5 w)15
Total(all out, 27 overs)71
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Windows), 2-1 (Wright), 3-9 (Hancock), 4-26 (Lynch), 5-35 (Symonds), 6-35 (Russell), 7-43 (Ball), 8-43 (Smith), 9-65 (Lewis), 10-71 (Alleyne)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Millns8   3142--
Mullally8   4163-1
Simmons5   019222
Parsons6   1202-1

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VJ Wellslbw b Smith1317232- 
DL Maddyc Symonds b Walsh1421323- 
BF Smithrun out711101- 
A Habiblbw b Walsh417241- 
PV Simmonslbw b Smith043-- 
*JJ Whitakerc Smith b Walsh3135635- 
ARK Piersonc Russell b Alleyne16951082- 
+PA Nixonc Windows b Walsh32028-- 
DJ Millnsc Russell b Alleyne2131524- 
GJ Parsonsnot out1032392- 
AD Mullallyb Alleyne11217-- 
Extras(8 b, 1 lb, 20 nb, 1 w)30
Total(all out, 47.3 overs)150
Fall of wickets:
1-37 (Wells), 2-39 (Maddy), 3-44 (Smith), 4-48 (Simmons), 5-62 (Habib), 6-109 (Whitaker), 7-114 (Nixon), 8-127 (Pierson), 9-140 (Millns), 10-150 (Mullally)
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Walsh18   6404-5
Smith14   2602-5
Ball2   080--
Lewis5   0210--

Gloucestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MGN Windowsc Nixon b Millns411121- 
AJ Wrightc Nixon b Simmons760791- 
THC Hancockc and b Simmons1850723- 
MA Lynchc Nixon b Mullally3842549- 
A Symondsb Parsons21315-- 
MW Alleynec Wells b Millns1434332- 
+RC Russellnot out1926494- 
MCJ Ballb Mullally11792- 
AM Smithb Mullally048-- 
J Lewisc Nixon b Mullally4811-- 
*CA Walshb Millns45131- 
Extras(5 lb, 10 nb)15
Total(all out, 42.3 overs)136
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (Windows), 2-30 (Wright), 3-35 (Hancock), 4-54 (Symonds), 5-98 (Lynch), 6-98 (Alleyne), 7-109 (Ball), 8-109 (Smith), 9-123 (Lewis), 10-136 (Walsh)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mullally12   5224--
Parsons10   4271--
Simmons9   2412-5

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in two.
--> BF Smith (1) passed 3000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 52
--> GJ Parsons (2) passed 6500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 2
--> ARK Pierson did not score for 70 minutes when 12 in the Leicestershire second innings
--> CA Walsh reached 1350 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed PA Nixon, his 4th wicket in the Leicestershire second innings
--> CA Walsh reached 700 wickets in County Championship matches when he dismissed A Habib, his 2nd wicket in the Leicestershire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive