Northern Transvaal v Australians
Australia in South Africa 1993/94
VenueCenturion Park, Verwoerdburg on 12th, 13th, 14th February 1994 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthern Transvaal won the toss and decided to field
ResultAustralians won by 249 runs
UmpiresSB Lambson, KE Liebenberg
Close of play day 1Australians (1) 274/5 (Jones 72*, Healy 1*; 70.5 overs)
Close of play day 2Australians (2) 10/0 (Taylor 4*, Slater 5*; 2 overs)

Australians first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Slaterb van Noordwyk51801168- 
*MA Taylorb van Noordwyk28587521 
DC Boonrun out (van Zyl)4882989- 
ME Waughc Rule b Elworthy825441- 
ML Haydenc Rule b Smith50931397- 
DM Jonesc Rule b Elworthy85117149111 
+IA Healyc Vorster b Smith1221391- 
PR Reiffelc Rule b Elworthy2242623- 
MG Hughesc and b Elworthy30536622 
TBA Maynot out11223-- 
GD McGrathb Bosch4331- 
Extras(7 lb, 16 nb, 1 w)24
Total(all out, 411 minutes, 94.2 overs)363
Fall of wickets:
1-62 (Taylor), 2-99 (Slater), 3-141 (Waugh), 4-147 (Boon), 5-273 (Hayden), 6-298 (Jones), 7-309 (Healy), 8-350 (Reiffel), 9-358 (Hughes), 10-363 (McGrath)
Northern Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Elworthy25   5854-6
Smith20   1972-10
van Noordwyk19   4702--
Pienaar7   13901-
van Zyl5   0170--

Northern Transvaal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BJ Sommervillec Healy b Reiffel105159-- 
VF du Preezc Boon b McGrath25691113- 
RF Pienaarc Healy b Reiffel023-- 
*JJ Strydomc Waugh b Reiffel22671051- 
+KJ Ruleb McGrath167-- 
LP Vorsterc Healy b McGrath2551662- 
DJ van Zylnot out631021357- 
S Elworthyc Healy b Hughes29587541 
T Boschlbw b Hughes024-- 
C van Noordwykc Healy b Hughes032-- 
GJ Smithc Hayden b Reiffel413331- 
Extras(6 lb, 18 nb, 6 w)30
Total(all out, 304 minutes, 67.1 overs)209
Fall of wickets:
1-35 (Sommerville), 2-35 (Pienaar), 3-47 (du Preez), 4-49 (Rule), 5-94 (Strydom), 6-113 (Vorster), 7-187 (Elworthy), 8-187 (Bosch), 9-188 (van Noordwyk), 10-209 (Smith)
Australians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGrath20   3503-5
Hughes20   172359
Waugh4   01901-
May11   2350--

Australians second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*MA Taylorc Smith b van Zyl751261559- 
MJ Slaterb Smith8814-- 
ME Waughst Rule b Sommerville134140185143 
+IA Healynot out38707621 
DC Boonlbw b van Zyl153-- 
ML Haydennot out14312711 
DM Jonesdid not bat      
PR Reiffeldid not bat      
MG Hughesdid not bat      
TBA Maydid not bat      
GD McGrathdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 5 nb, 2 w)11
Total(4 wickets, declared, 232 minutes, 62 overs)281
Fall of wickets:
1-19 (Slater), 2-184 (Taylor), 3-244 (Waugh), 4-245 (Boon)
Northern Transvaal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Elworthy11   0540-1
Smith6   038123
Bosch4   0230--
van Noordwyk8   1420-1
van Zyl21   4832--
Sommerville12   0371--

Northern Transvaal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BJ Sommervillelbw b Reiffel2121353- 
VF du Preezc Healy b Hughes047-- 
RF Pienaarb Hughes4247726- 
*JJ Strydomc Taylor b Reiffel011-- 
+KJ Rulec Healy b Reiffel1331402- 
LP Vorsterc Healy b McGrath1226482- 
DJ van Zylst Healy b May815162- 
S Elworthyc Healy b May3153596- 
T Boschc Healy b Reiffel41726-- 
C van Noordwyknot out1823312- 
GJ Smithb Jones2124254- 
Extras(2 b, 6 lb, 5 nb, 3 w)16
Total(all out, 185 minutes, 42 overs)186
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (du Preez), 2-31 (Sommerville), 3-31 (Strydom), 4-82 (Rule), 5-82 (Pienaar), 6-96 (van Zyl), 7-114 (Vorster), 8-142 (Bosch), 9-146 (Elworthy), 10-186 (Smith)
Australians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGrath11   26111-
Hughes8   13021-
Reiffel11   057415
May10   2242--
Jones2   061--

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> DM Jones (1) passed 13500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 82
--> MG Hughes (1) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 2
--> RF Pienaar (2) passed 9500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 4
--> GJ Smith (2) passed his previous highest score of 12 in first-class matches
--> GD McGrath reached 50 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed KJ Rule, his 2nd wicket in the Northern Transvaal first innings

12th Men: RE Bryson (N Tvl) and SR Waugh (Aus)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive