India v Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka in India 1993/94 (3rd Test)
VenueGujarat Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad on 8th, 9th, 10th, 12th February 1994 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat
ResultIndia won by an innings and 17 runs
UmpiresAL Narasimhan, VK Ramaswamy
RefereeED Weekes
Close of play day 1India (1) 90/1 (Sidhu 29*, Kambli 45*)
Close of play day 2India (1) 329/8 (Azharuddin 134*, Chauhan 0*)
Close of play day 3Sri Lanka (2) 154/5 (Ranatunga 5*, Kalpage 0*)
Man of the MatchM Azharuddin

Sri Lanka first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RS Mahanamalbw b Kumble1843562- 
DP Samaraweerab Chauhan16841151- 
HP Tillakaratnec Manjrekar b Kapil Dev5441- 
PA de Silvalbw b Raju720251- 
*A Ranatungac Azharuddin b Raju15565911 
MS Atapattub Chauhan0108-- 
RS Kalpagec Azharuddin b Chauhan22428-- 
+PB Dassanayakec Kambli b Raju1028301- 
SD Anurasirib Raju44458-- 
GP Wickramasinghest Mongia b Raju22283021 
M Muralitharannot out59181- 
Extras(8 b, 7 lb)15
Total(all out, 63.5 overs)119
Fall of wickets:
1-34 (Mahanama), 2-39 (Tillakaratne), 3-47 (de Silva), 4-59 (Samaraweera), 5-59 (Atapattu), 6-71 (Ranatunga), 7-79 (Kalpage), 8-89 (Dassanayake), 9-108 (Anurasiri), 10-119 (Wickramasinghe)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Prabhakar5   0130--
Kapil Dev9   4151--
Kumble15   3301--
Chauhan11   883--

India first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
M Prabhakarb Anurasiri14425521 
NS Sidhuc Kalpage b Muralitharan4311517741 
VG Kamblic Ranatunga b Wickramasinghe57899511- 
SR Tendulkarb Wickramasinghe614251- 
*M Azharuddinb Muralitharan152260361161 
SV Manjrekarc Ranatunga b de Silva1654761- 
Kapil Devlbw b de Silva42439-- 
+NR Mongialbw b Anurasiri146067-- 
A Kumblec Kalpage b de Silva1545511- 
RK Chauhanb Muralitharan9961321- 
SLV Rajunot out11812-- 
Extras(17 b, 5 lb, 5 nb)27
Total(all out, 138.3 overs)358
Fall of wickets:
1-27 (Prabhakar), 2-110 (Kambli), 3-123 (Tendulkar), 4-123 (Sidhu), 5-169 (Manjrekar), 6-203 (Kapil Dev), 7-249 (Mongia), 8-288 (Kumble), 9-355 (Azharuddin), 10-358 (Chauhan)
Sri Lanka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wickramasinghe36   91082--
Ranatunga8   1150--
Anurasiri28   3752--
Kalpage7   290--
de Silva23   5503--

Sri Lanka second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RS Mahanamalbw b Raju631251567- 
DP Samaraweerarun out201001091- 
HP Tillakaratnec Azharuddin b Raju401431515- 
PA de Silvac Azharuddin b Chauhan14891122- 
*A Ranatungac Sidhu b Raju29497921 
MS Atapattuc Mongia b Chauhan076-- 
RS Kalpagec Azharuddin b Chauhan919322- 
+PB Dassanayakenot out2145651- 
SD Anurasiric Prabhakar b Raju62226-- 
GP Wickramasinghec Prabhakar b Raju046-- 
M Muralitharanc Mongia b Raju4571- 
Extras(4 b, 11 lb, 1 nb)16
Total(all out, 104.3 overs)222
Fall of wickets:
1-67 (Samaraweera), 2-98 (Mahanama), 3-149 (Tillakaratne), 4-149 (de Silva), 5-153 (Atapattu), 6-167 (Kalpage), 7-193 (Ranatunga), 8-214 (Anurasiri), 9-214 (Wickramasinghe), 10-222 (Muralitharan)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Prabhakar5   2110--
Kapil Dev5   1120--
Kumble28   9450--
Chauhan30   14453--
Tendulkar4   170--

--> The match was scheduled for five days but completed in four.
--> RS Mahanama (1) passed 1500 runs in Test matches when he reached 1
--> GP Wickramasinghe (1) passed his previous highest score of 21 in Test matches
--> NS Sidhu (1) passed 5500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> RK Chauhan did not score for 84 minutes when 0 in the India first innings
--> RK Chauhan achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Test matches in the Sri Lanka first innings (previous best was 3-30)
--> SLV Raju reached 50 wickets in Test matches when he dismissed PB Dassanayake, his 3rd wicket in the Sri Lanka first innings
--> M Muralitharan reached 50 wickets in Test matches when he dismissed NS Sidhu, his 1st wicket in the India first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive