New Zealand v Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka in New Zealand 1990/91 (2nd Test)
VenueTrust Bank Park, Hamilton on 22nd, 23rd, 24th, 25th, 26th February 1991 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSri Lanka won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresBL Aldridge, RS Dunne
Close of play day 1New Zealand (1) 221/4 (Jones 109*, Thomson 32*)
Close of play day 2Sri Lanka (1) 180/5 (Gurusinha 81*, Ramanayake 13*)
Close of play day 3New Zealand (2) 170/2 (Franklin 56*, Jones 2*)
Close of play day 4Sri Lanka (2) 109/1 (Hathurusingha 30*, Ramanayake 11*)
Man of the MatchIDS Smith, AP Gurusinha, AH Jones

New Zealand first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TJ Franklinc PA de Silva b Gurusinha1586117-- 
JG Wrightc Hathurusingha b Labrooy21731201- 
AH Jonesc Tillakaratne b Ratnayake1222172886- 
*MD Crowec Tillakaratne b Ranatunga3673963- 
KR Rutherfordc Tillakaratne b Ramanayake046-- 
SA Thomsonb Ramanayake361561863- 
DN Patelnot out2650973- 
+IDS Smithc Senanayake b Ratnayake72944-- 
DK Morrisonc Tillakaratne b Ratnayake078-- 
C Pringleb Ratnayake928241- 
W Watsonc Tillakaratne b Ratnayake413141- 
Extras(4 b, 12 lb, 4 nb)20
Total(all out, 504 minutes, 121.4 overs)296
Fall of wickets:
1-40 (Franklin), 2-40 (Wright), 3-125 (Crowe), 4-126 (Rutherford), 5-239 (Thomson), 6-239 (Jones), 7-258 (Smith), 8-270 (Morrison), 9-288 (Pringle), 10-296 (Watson, 121.4 ov)
Sri Lanka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Labrooy22   6461--
Ramanayake27   9522--
EAR de Silva14   2350--

Sri Lanka first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CP Senanayakec Smith b Pringle512181- 
UC Hathurusinghac Smith b Morrison2345544- 
AP Gurusinhac Thomson b Morrison119261362171 
PA de Silvac Smith b Watson166-- 
+HP Tillakaratnec Smith b Pringle1225481- 
ST Jayasuriyalbw b Patel35821135- 
CPH Ramanayakerun out1355622- 
*A Ranatungac Smith b Morrison2166903- 
EAR de Silvac Smith b Watson0513-- 
GF Labrooyc Smith b Watson611161- 
RJ Ratnayakenot out1910-- 
Extras(4 lb, 13 nb)17
Total(all out, 403 minutes, 93.4 overs)253
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (Senanayake), 2-38 (Hathurusingha), 3-41 (PA de Silva), 4-83 (Tillakaratne), 5-163 (Jayasuriya), 6-185 (Ramanayake), 7-240 (Ranatunga), 8-246 (Gurusinha), 9-246 (EAR de Silva), 10-253 (Labrooy, 93.4 ov)
New Zealand bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Morrison26   6773--
Pringle20   5642--
Patel15   4331--
Thomson6   1100--

New Zealand second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TJ Franklinb Ratnayake692042907- 
JG Wrightc Tillakaratne b Ramanayake10114018514- 
DK Morrisonc Jayasuriya b Ramanayake01414-- 
AH Jonesnot out1001722558- 
KR Rutherfordb EAR de Silva62029-- 
SA Thomsonc Tillakaratne b EAR de Silva5572887- 
DN Patelb Labrooy913192- 
+IDS Smithnot out61426-- 
*MD Crowedid not bat      
C Pringledid not bat      
W Watsondid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 9 lb, 14 nb, 2 w)28
Total(6 wickets, declared, 456 minutes, 105 overs)374
Fall of wickets:
1-161 (Wright), 2-162 (Morrison), 3-209 (Franklin), 4-222 (Rutherford), 5-327 (Thomson), 6-359 (Patel)
Sri Lanka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ratnayake27   4701--
Labrooy20   2651--
Ramanayake26   5972--
Gurusinha4   1120--
EAR de Silva24   6892--
Hathurusingha2   0150--
PA de Silva2   0140--

Sri Lanka second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CP Senanayakec Jones b Watson648111610- 
UC Hathurusinghac sub (MJ Greatbatch) b Thomson812323139- 
CPH Ramanayakec sub (MJ Greatbatch) b Watson1140422- 
AP Gurusinhac Smith b Morrison10223931191 
PA de Silvac and b Patel61417-- 
+HP Tillakaratnec sub (GE Bradburn) b Patel2660843- 
*A Ranatunganot out2062892- 
EAR de Silvanot out1135341- 
ST Jayasuriyadid not bat      
GF Labrooydid not bat      
RJ Ratnayakedid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 11 lb, 8 nb)23
Total(6 wickets, 506 minutes, 125 overs)344
Fall of wickets:
1-95 (Senanayake), 2-121 (Ramanayake), 3-238 (Hathurusingha), 4-245 (PA de Silva), 5-300 (Tillakaratne), 6-320 (Gurusinha)
New Zealand bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Morrison25   4851--
Pringle12   2460--
Watson37   8752--
Patel39   13902--
Thomson8   3181--
Jones4   1150--

--> UC Hathurusingha made his debut in Test matches
--> ST Jayasuriya made his debut in Test matches
--> JG Wright (1) passed 4500 runs in Test matches when he reached 20
--> AH Jones (1) passed 1500 runs in Test matches when he reached 119
--> AP Gurusinha (1) passed his previous highest score of 116 in Test matches
--> SA Thomson (2) passed his previous highest score of 43 in Test matches
--> SA Thomson (2) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 54
--> UC Hathurusingha made his debut for Sri Lanka in first-class matches
--> ST Jayasuriya made his debut for Sri Lanka in first-class matches
--> DK Morrison reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed AP Gurusinha, his 1st wicket in the Sri Lanka second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive