Somerset v Hampshire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1990
VenueCounty Ground, Taunton on 18th, 19th, 20th, 21st August 1990 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSomerset won by 5 wickets
PointsSomerset 22 (Batting 4, Bowling 2); Hampshire 8 (Batting 4, Bowling 4)
UmpiresJH Harris, SB Hassan
ScorersVH Isaacs (Hampshire), DAH Oldam (Somerset)
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 359/8 (Connor 8*, Bakker 3*)
Close of play day 2Hampshire (1) 401/9 (Connor 29*, Ayling 62*)
Close of play day 3Hampshire (2) 21/0 (Terry 10*, CL Smith 9*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VP Terryc Jones b Rose96     
CL Smithlbw b Mallender1     
DI Gowerc Burns b Jones14     
RA Smithc Burns b Mallender58     
MD Marshalllbw b Swallow58     
*MCJ Nicholaslbw b Jones0     
JR Aylingnot out62     
RJ Maruc Lefebvre b Mallender46     
+RJ Parkslbw b Mallender1     
CA Connornot out29     
PJ Bakkerb Mallender20     
Extras(11 lb, 5 nb)16
Total(9 wickets, declared, 116 overs)401
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (CL Smith), 2-26 (Gower), 3-129 (RA Smith), 4-221 (Terry), 5-222, 6-242, 7-347, 8-356, 9-401
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jones22   3872--
Mallender27   31025--
Lefebvre19   6590--
Rose15   2481--
Hayhurst12   2400--
Swallow17   7371--
Roebuck4   0170--

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SJ Cookc Parks b Maru114     
PM Roebuckc Connor b Bakker0     
AN Hayhurstc Parks b Connor28     
*CJ Tavaréc Parks b Maru66     
RJ Hardenlbw b Marshall0     
+ND Burnsc and b Maru1     
GD Rosec CL Smith b Marshall13     
RP Lefebvrec Parks b Maru37     
NA Mallenderb Marshall17     
AN Jonesnot out8     
IG Swallownot out0     
Extras(11 lb, 6 nb)17
Total(9 wickets, declared, 98.3 overs)301
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (Roebuck), 2-65 (Hayhurst), 3-179, 4-180, 5-181, 6-194, 7-273, 8-284, 9-292
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bakker22   6581--
Marshall16   3433--
Connor17   2751--
Nicholas6   2110--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VP Terryc and b Harden59     
CL Smithc and b Harden88     
DI Gowerc Harden b Lefebvre29     
RA Smithnot out13     
*MCJ Nicholasnot out6     
MD Marshalldid not bat      
JR Aylingdid not bat      
RJ Marudid not bat      
+RJ Parksdid not bat      
CA Connordid not bat      
PJ Bakkerdid not bat      
Extras(4 lb, 2 nb)6
Total(3 wickets, declared, 54.4 overs)201
Fall of wickets:
1-135, 2-182, 3-182
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jones9   1210--
Mallender8   1230--
Rose3   220--
Hayhurst6   0380--
Roebuck8   0340--
Harden8   0392--

Somerset second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SJ Cooklbw b Marshall77     
PM Roebuckc Parks b Nicholas19     
AN Hayhurstst Parks b Maru47     
*CJ Tavarérun out64     
RJ Hardenc Gower b Connor36     
GD Rosenot out33     
+ND Burnsnot out8     
RP Lefebvredid not bat      
NA Mallenderdid not bat      
AN Jonesdid not bat      
IG Swallowdid not bat      
Extras(10 b, 8 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)20
Total(5 wickets, 60.2 overs)304
Fall of wickets:
1-84 (Roebuck), 2-147, 3-155, 4-246, 5-272
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bakker11   0530--
Marshall11   2341--
Connor8   0451--
Nicholas2   071--
CL Smith1   020--
Ayling3   0220--

--> Hampshire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 314-6
--> VP Terry (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 48
--> SJ Cook (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 7
--> SJ Cook (1) passed 15000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 45
--> AN Hayhurst (1) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 27
--> VP Terry (2) passed 10000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 13
--> RA Smith (2) passed 10500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 7
--> RJ Harden (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 11
--> GD Rose (2) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1
--> JR Ayling retired hurt in the Hampshire first innings having scored 62 (team score 347/6) - he returned when the score was 401/9





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive