New South Wales v Sri Lankans
Sri Lanka in Australia 1989/90
VenueManuka Oval, Canberra on 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th November 1989 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSri Lankans won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresGE Reed, IS Thomas
ScorersEW Cosgrove (New South Wales), S Gould (Sri Lankans)
Close of play day 1New South Wales (1) 335/6 (O'Neill 38*, Matthews 9*; 82 overs)
Close of play day 2Sri Lankans (1) 17/0 (D Ranatunga 11*, Samarasekera 4*; 11 overs)
Close of play day 3Sri Lankans (1) 217/3 (de Silva 18*, Wickremasinghe 0*; 91 overs)

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Smallc Ratnayeke b Labrooy3675754- 
MA Taylorc Ratnayeke b Labrooy53691094- 
TH Baylissc D Ranatunga b Labrooy899414281 
SR Waughc Gurusinha b Labrooy5768977- 
ME Waughc Gurusinha b Labrooy42596932 
MD O'Neillrun out651181617- 
PL Taylorc Madurasinghe b Ratnayeke21216-- 
GRJ Matthewsnot out521231644- 
+PA Emerynot out1559641- 
*GF Lawsondid not bat      
MR Whitneydid not bat      
Extras(9 lb, 3 nb)12
Total(7 wickets, declared, 465 minutes, 112 overs)423
Fall of wickets:
1-84 (Small), 2-108 (MA Taylor), 3-223 (SR Waugh), 4-254 (Bayliss), 5-297 (ME Waugh), 6-306 (PL Taylor), 7-385 (O'Neill)
Sri Lankans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ratnayeke34   31111-1
Labrooy31   21415-2
Madurasinghe22   0830--
A Ranatunga13   0360--
Samarasekera1   0150--
Jayasuriya3   0140--
de Silva8   2140--

Sri Lankans first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Ranatungac Emery b Whitney562312701- 
MAR Samarasekerac Emery b Matthews13325833916- 
AP Gurusinhac and b O'Neill83650-- 
PA de Silvac Emery b Whitney3052943- 
+AGD Wickremasingheb Whitney01723-- 
*A Ranatungalbw b Lawson432-- 
HP Tillakaratnelbw b Lawson01312-- 
ST Jayasuriyalbw b ME Waugh2737654- 
JR Ratnayekelbw b ME Waugh11515-- 
MAWR Madurasinghenot out41515-- 
GF Labrooyabsent hurt
Extras(4 lb, 1 nb)5
Total(all out, 446 minutes, 111.3 overs)268
Fall of wickets:
1-159 (D Ranatunga), 2-190 (Gurusinha), 3-208 (Samarasekera), 4-218 (Wickremasinghe), 5-225 (A Ranatunga), 6-225 (Tillakaratne), 7-255 (de Silva), 8-258 (Ratnayeke), 9-268 (Jayasuriya, 111.3 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lawson25   13392--
Whitney24   7543--
ME Waugh4.3272-1
PL Taylor15   3400--
Matthews23   6581--
O'Neill20   5661--

New South Wales second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Smallnot out3672873- 
MA Taylorc Ratnayeke b A Ranatunga2824355- 
TH Baylisslbw b A Ranatunga21114-- 
SR Waughnot out113135-- 
ME Waughdid not bat      
MD O'Neilldid not bat      
PL Taylordid not bat      
GRJ Matthewsdid not bat      
+PA Emerydid not bat      
*GF Lawsondid not bat      
MR Whitneydid not bat      
Extras(4 nb, 1 w)5
Total(2 wickets, declared, 87 minutes, 22 overs)82
Fall of wickets:
1-54 (MA Taylor), 2-58 (Bayliss)
Sri Lankans bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ratnayeke9   2380--
Gurusinha4   0230--
A Ranatunga7   017214
Madurasinghe2   040--

Sri Lankans second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
D Ranatungalbw b Whitney011-- 
MAR Samarasekerab Whitney0610-- 
AP Gurusinhac Matthews b PL Taylor45921144- 
PA de Silvac SR Waugh b Whitney269-- 
HP Tillakaratnelbw b ME Waugh516151- 
*A Ranatungac Matthews b PL Taylor1825382- 
ST Jayasuriyanot out27107-- 
JR Ratnayekec Emery b O'Neill1266862- 
+AGD Wickremasinghenot out42022-- 
MAWR Madurasinghedid not bat      
GF Labrooydid not bat      
Extras(5 lb, 1 nb)6
Total(7 wickets, 155 minutes, 40 overs)119
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (D Ranatunga), 2-1 (Samarasekera), 3-9 (de Silva), 4-14 (Tillakaratne), 5-59 (A Ranatunga), 6-98 (Gurusinha), 7-113 (Ratnayeke)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Whitney9   2213--
ME Waugh6   1291-1
Matthews11   4320--
PL Taylor11   3282--
O'Neill3   241--

--> MA Taylor (1) 50 in 66 balls, 102 minutes with 4 fours
--> TH Bayliss (1) 50 in 55 balls, 75 minutes with 5 fours and 1 six
--> TH Bayliss (1) passed his previous highest score of 70 in first-class matches
--> SR Waugh (1) 50 in 65 balls, 92 minutes with 6 fours
--> MD O'Neill (1) 50 in 100 balls, 135 minutes with 6 fours
--> GRJ Matthews (1) 50 in 119 balls, 167 minutes with 4 fours
--> D Ranatunga (1) 50 in 182 balls, 203 minutes with 1 four
--> MAR Samarasekera (1) 50 in 109 balls, 150 minutes with 5 fours
--> MAR Samarasekera (1) 100 in 195 balls, 261 minutes with 12 fours
--> MAR Samarasekera (1) passed his previous highest score of 116 in first-class matches
--> MAR Samarasekera (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 49
--> MAWR Madurasinghe made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> D Ranatunga made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> AGD Wickremasinghe made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> HP Tillakaratne made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> ST Jayasuriya made his debut in Australia in first-class matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive