Lancashire v Worcestershire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1989
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 19th, 20th, 21st July 1989 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to field
ResultWorcestershire won by 36 runs
PointsLancashire 4 (Bowling 4); Worcestershire 21 (Batting 1, Bowling 4)
UmpiresJH Harris, AGT Whitehead
Close of play day 1Lancashire (1) 125 all out
Close of play day 2Lancashire (2) 160/2 (Atherton 33*, Fairbrother 37*)

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TS Curtisc Atherton b Patterson0      
GJ Lordc Hegg b Patterson13      
GA Hickc Fowler b Allott21      
DB D'Oliveiranot out11      
*PA Nealec Hegg b Patterson62      
IT Bothamc and b Allott1      
+SJ Rhodesb Allott8      
MJ Westonc Atherton b Patterson12      
NV Radfordc Hegg b DeFreitas14      
RK Illingworthc Allott b DeFreitas0      
GR Dilleyc Fairbrother b Watkinson31      
Extras(7 lb, 10 nb, 1 w)18
Total(all out, 67.3 overs)191
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-38, 3-48, 4-54, 5-62, 6-90, 7-124, 8-124, 9-168, 10-191 (67.3 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Patterson19   4614--
DeFreitas18   3462--
Allott18   4513--
Atherton1   010--

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GD Mendisc Rhodes b Dilley0      
G Fowlerc Radford b Botham30      
MA Athertonc Rhodes b Dilley0      
NH Fairbrotherc Illingworth b Dilley0      
TE Jestyretired hurt32      
M Watkinsonc Weston b Dilley18      
+WK Hegglbw b Radford0      
*DP Hughesc Rhodes b Botham10      
PAJ DeFreitasc Neale b Botham14      
PJW Allottb Dilley0      
BP Pattersonnot out0      
Extras(4 b, 11 lb, 5 nb, 1 w)21
Total(all out, 40.2 overs)125
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-5, 3-5, 4-70, 5-72, 6-99, 7-123, 8-125, 9-125 (40.2 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Radford13   4411--
Botham15   1393--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TS Curtisc Hegg b Patterson21      
GJ Lordc Hughes b Patterson3      
GA Hickc Mendis b Watkinson16      
+SJ Rhodesc Atherton b Patterson13      
*PA Nealec Hegg b Watkinson14      
IT Bothamc Hegg b Watkinson73      
MJ Westonc Jesty b Watkinson22      
DB D'Oliveirac Hegg b Watkinson10      
NV Radfordc Hegg b Watkinson0      
RK Illingworthlbw b Watkinson10      
GR Dilleynot out0      
Extras(4 b, 5 lb, 7 nb, 1 w)17
Total(all out, 69 overs)199
Fall of wickets:
1-30, 2-37, 3-59, 4-65, 5-138, 6-155, 7-181, 8-184, 9-190, 10-199 (69 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
DeFreitas2   0130--
Allott20   4550--
Watkinson25   7697--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GD Mendisc Hick b Botham70      
G Fowlerc sub b Radford12      
MA Athertonc Hick b Botham59      
NH Fairbrotherc Rhodes b Radford39      
TE Jestyc Hick b Dilley7      
M Watkinsonc Hick b Dilley7      
+WK Heggc Hick b Dilley9      
*DP Hughesnot out7      
PAJ DeFreitasc Rhodes b Dilley0      
PJW Allottb Botham5      
BP Pattersonc Rhodes b Dilley1      
Extras(5 lb, 8 nb)13
Total(all out, 67.1 overs)229
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-111, 3-168, 4-182, 5-205, 6-205, 7-216, 8-216, 9-224, 10-229 (67.1 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Radford17   1632--
Botham19   4553--
Weston4   0120--

--> GR Dilley (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1
--> TE Jesty (1) passed 20500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 15
--> MJ Weston (2) passed 5000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 22
--> PAJ DeFreitas reached 250 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Worcestershire first innings
--> BP Patterson reached 350 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Worcestershire second innings
--> M Watkinson reached 250 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Worcestershire second innings
--> DB D'Oliveira retired hurt in the Worcestershire first innings having scored 6 (team score 53/3) - he returned when the score was 168/9





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive