Worcestershire v Derbyshire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1989
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 10th, 12th, 13th June 1989 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDerbyshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultWorcestershire won by 145 runs
PointsWorcestershire 22 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Derbyshire 5 (Batting 1, Bowling 4)
UmpiresHD Bird, NT Plews
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 47/1 (Maher 14*, Morris 15*)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (2) 172/3 (Bent 54*, Neale 5*)

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TS Curtisc Maher b Griffith58      
P Bentc Maher b Bishop16      
GA Hickc Roberts b Newman17      
DB D'Oliveirab Griffith26      
*PA Nealec and b Warner22      
MJ Westonc Roberts b Base3      
+SJ Rhodesc Maher b Warner1      
NV Radfordb Newman36      
RK Illingworthc Maher b Newman4      
GR Dilleynot out8      
AP Pridgeonb Base1      
Extras(2 b, 9 lb, 8 nb, 9 w)28
Total(all out, 86.4 overs)220
Fall of wickets:
1-35, 2-76, 3-132, 4-147, 5-154, 6-155, 7-193, 8-201, 9-216, 10-220 (86.4 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bishop21   0611--
Newman17   6303--
Warner16   5322--
Sharma1   050--
Griffith10   3182--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PD Bowlerb Dilley16      
+BJM Maherlbw b Dilley17      
JE Morrisc Rhodes b Weston48      
B Robertsc Hick b Radford2      
SC Goldsmithc D'Oliveira b Dilley0      
R Sharmac Rhodes b Dilley6      
FA Griffithc Radford b Dilley30      
*PG Newmanlbw b Radford10      
AE Warnerc Curtis b Weston14      
IR Bishopc D'Oliveira b Weston0      
SJ Basenot out0      
Extras(1 b, 10 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)14
Total(all out, 67.2 overs)157
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-50, 3-51, 4-59, 5-68, 6-83, 7-100, 8-157, 9-157, 10-157 (67.2 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Radford20   3512--
Weston15   7213--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TS Curtisc Sharma b Bishop14      
P Bentb Bishop62      
GA Hickc Maher b Bishop42      
DB D'Oliveirab Base47      
*PA Nealec sub b Base17      
NV Radfordc Base b Bishop5      
MJ Westonc Maher b Base7      
+SJ Rhodesb Base0      
RK Illingworthnot out5      
GR Dilleynot out11      
AP Pridgeondid not bat      
Extras(15 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)17
Total(8 wickets, declared, 68 overs)227
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-72, 3-154, 4-194, 5-194, 6-208, 7-210, 8-211
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bishop19   6504--
Base18   2824--
Newman10   4360--
Warner10   4240--
Sharma11   4200--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PD Bowlerrun out26      
+BJM Maherlbw b Radford0      
B Robertsb Radford0      
SC Goldsmithc Hick b Radford20      
R Sharmab Weston14      
FA Griffithc Rhodes b Radford4      
JE Morrisnot out47      
AE Warnerretired hurt10      
*PG Newmanb Radford12      
IR Bishopc Hick b Radford1      
SJ Baseb Dilley0      
Extras(4 b, 6 lb, 1 nb)11
Total(all out, 60.1 overs)145
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-0, 3-40, 4-57, 5-66, 6-68, 7-138, 8-140, 9-145 (60.1 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Radford25   6596--
Weston13   5211--
Illingworth8   440--

--> TS Curtis (1) passed 8000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 19
--> P Bent (2) passed his previous highest score of 50 in County Championship matches
--> P Bent (2) passed his previous highest score of 50 in first-class matches
--> GA Hick (2) passed 11500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 2
--> AP Pridgeon made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> AP Pridgeon made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> PG Newman (2) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> GR Dilley reached 550 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Derbyshire first innings
--> IR Bishop achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Worcestershire second innings (previous best was 3-54)
--> JE Morris retired hurt in the Derbyshire first innings having scored 15 (team score 47/1) - he returned when the score was 100/7
--> AE Warner retired hurt in the Derbyshire second innings having scored 10 (team score 85/6)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive