Lancashire v Nottinghamshire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1989
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 27th, 28th, 29th April, 1st May 1989 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLancashire 7 (Batting 4, Bowling 3); Nottinghamshire 5 (Batting 3, Bowling 2)
UmpiresHD Bird, DR Shepherd
Close of play day 1Lancashire (1) 74/2 (Mendis 47*, Hegg 0*)
Close of play day 2Nottinghamshire (1) 106/1 (Robinson 66*, Newell 29*)
Close of play day 3Lancashire (2) 51/2 (Hayhurst 18*, Hegg 3*)

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GD Mendislbw b Hemmings118      
G Fowlerc Newell b Saxelby4      
AN Hayhurstc Robinson b Hemmings22      
+WK Heggb Evans13      
TE Jestyb Evans44      
M Watkinsonnot out61      
*DP Hughesb Hemmings13      
Wasim Akramnot out9      
PAJ DeFreitasdid not bat      
JD Fittondid not bat      
J Simmonsdid not bat      
Extras(13 lb, 3 nb)16
Total(6 wickets, declared, 92.1 overs)300
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-72, 3-115, 4-179, 5-238, 6-286
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Stephenson21   5800--
Saxelby15   1681--
Hemmings22   5573--
Evans13   2362--

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BC Broadc Hegg b DeFreitas1      
*RT Robinsonc Hegg b Wasim Akram66      
M Newellb DeFreitas99      
P Johnsonc Fowler b Wasim Akram2      
DW Randallb Wasim Akram0      
FD Stephensonlbw b Wasim Akram0      
+BN Frenchc Fowler b Wasim Akram5      
KP Evanslbw b Simmons55      
EE Hemmingsc Fitton b Wasim Akram3      
K Saxelbynot out7      
KE Coopernot out23      
Extras(4 lb, 17 nb, 1 w)22
Total(9 wickets, declared, 109 overs)283
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-107, 3-117, 4-119, 5-120, 6-137, 7-242, 8-252, 9-253
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wasim Akram29   3706--
DeFreitas32   5812--
Watkinson18   1400--
Simmons24   7581--
Fitton6   1300--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GD Mendisnot out81      
G Fowlerb Stephenson4      
AN Hayhurstc French b Evans33      
TE Jestyc Randall b Stephenson4      
+WK Heggb Saxelby50      
M Watkinsonlbw b Saxelby1      
*DP Hughesc Saxelby b Hemmings23      
Wasim Akramc Broad b Cooper24      
PAJ DeFreitasnot out11      
JD Fittondid not bat      
J Simmonsdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 12 lb, 3 nb)19
Total(7 wickets, declared, 75.3 overs)250
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-42, 3-96, 4-134, 5-136, 6-183, 7-227
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Stephenson11   4212--
Saxelby13   4392--
Hemmings28   7941--
Evans9   1231--
Newell8   0440--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BC Broadnot out56      
*RT Robinsonnot out77      
M Newelldid not bat      
P Johnsondid not bat      
DW Randalldid not bat      
FD Stephensondid not bat      
+BN Frenchdid not bat      
KP Evansdid not bat      
EE Hemmingsdid not bat      
K Saxelbydid not bat      
KE Cooperdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 4 lb, 6 nb, 3 w)14
Total(no wicket, 43 overs)147
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wasim Akram13   4210--
DeFreitas11   1390--
Watkinson6   1270--
Simmons9   1340--
Hughes4   0210--

--> Nottinghamshire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 251-7
--> GD Mendis (1) passed 16000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 51
--> G Fowler (1) passed 12000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 3
--> TE Jesty (1) passed 20000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 25
--> M Watkinson (1) passed 3500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 24
--> KP Evans (1) passed his previous highest score of 54 in first-class matches
--> KP Evans (1) passed his previous highest score of 54 in County Championship matches
--> K Saxelby (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1
--> AN Hayhurst (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 29
--> K Saxelby reached 250 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Lancashire first innings
--> GD Mendis retired hurt in the Lancashire second innings having scored 19 (team score 37/1) - he returned when the score was 96/3





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive