New South Wales v South Australia
Sheffield Shield 1988/89
VenueSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney on 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th February 1989 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSouth Australia won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsNew South Wales 2; South Australia 0
UmpiresGE Reed, IS Thomas
Close of play day 1South Australia (1) 298/4 (Lehmann 73*, Sleep 4*)
Close of play day 2New South Wales (1) 170/4 (Smith 16*, Matthews 12*)
Close of play day 3South Australia (2) 89/3 (Hilditch 43*, Lehmann 23*)

South Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GA Bishopc ME Waugh b Lawson571321874- 
AMJ Hilditchc SR Waugh b Lawson1331501- 
PC Nobesc MA Taylor b PL Taylor5814117410- 
*DW Hookesc Emery b Lawson83131147121 
DS Lehmannc Smith b Lawson79123160101 
PR Sleepc Emery b SR Waugh430341- 
JC Scuderilbw b Lawson1928433- 
+PW Andersonc Emery b Whitney1347622- 
AK Zesersc Dyson b PL Taylor1531412- 
TBA Maynot out148-- 
PW Gladigauc Dyson b Whitney044-- 
Extras(8 b, 1 lb, 5 nb)14
Total(all out, 460 minutes, 115.4 overs)356
Fall of wickets:
1-32 (Hilditch), 2-129 (Bishop), 3-147 (Nobes), 4-284 (Hookes), 5-299 (Sleep), 6-313 (Lehmann), 7-332 (Scuderi), 8-355 (Anderson), 9-355 (Zesers), 10-356 (Gladigau, 115.4 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lawson27   7725--
SR Waugh21   5541--
Matthews22   8570--
Whitfield5   0320--
PL Taylor18   6522--
ME Waugh1   090--

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Dysonc Anderson b Zesers2568823- 
MA Taylorc Scuderi b Gladigau691562028- 
SR Waughc Bishop b Zesers1655591- 
ME Waughc Hookes b Zesers2943464- 
SB Smithlbw b Gladigau381041236- 
GRJ Matthewsnot out7622328411- 
PL Taylorb Gladigau8411014416- 
+PA Emerynot out41627-- 
*GF Lawsondid not bat      
SBJ Whitfielddid not bat      
MR Whitneydid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 9 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)16
Total(6 wickets, declared, 487 minutes, 127 overs)357
Fall of wickets:
1-48 (Dyson), 2-95 (SR Waugh), 3-141 (ME Waugh), 4-141 (MA Taylor), 5-208 (Smith), 6-351 (PL Taylor)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Scuderi25   8650--
May23   6540--
Gladigau30   12743--
Zesers34   13783--
Sleep12   1670--
Hookes3   150--

South Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AMJ Hilditchc Dyson b PL Taylor10132838511- 
GA Bishopb Whitney037-- 
PC Nobesc Smith b Matthews2029465- 
*DW Hookeslbw b Lawson199-- 
DS Lehmannc MA Taylor b Matthews609713311- 
PR Sleepc Dyson b Matthews66269-- 
JC Scuderirun out054-- 
+PW Andersonc Emery b Whitfield01513-- 
AK Zesersc Emery b Whitfield3810214151 
TBA Maynot out87368-- 
PW Gladigaunot out522221- 
Extras(4 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)6
Total(9 wickets, 455 minutes, 125 overs)245
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Bishop), 2-41 (Nobes), 3-46 (Hookes), 4-139 (Lehmann), 5-168 (Sleep), 6-168 (Scuderi), 7-168 (Anderson), 8-217 (Hilditch), 9-239 (Zesers)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lawson17   9301--
Whitney14   3421--
Matthews39   15773--
Whitfield34   17542--
PL Taylor19   8381--
Dyson2   200--

--> PC Nobes (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 25
--> DW Hookes (1) passed 7000 runs in Sheffield Shield matches when he reached 35
--> DS Lehmann (1) passed his previous highest score of 51 in first-class matches
--> DS Lehmann (1) passed his previous highest score of 51 in Sheffield Shield matches
--> MA Taylor (1) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 23
--> PL Taylor (1) passed his previous highest score of 78 in Sheffield Shield matches
--> SBJ Whitfield made his debut in Sheffield Shield matches
--> SBJ Whitfield made his debut in first-class matches

12th Men: WJ Holdsworth (NSW) and BD Williams (SA)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive