Kent v Sussex
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1988
VenueMote Park, Maidstone on 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th August 1988 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossKent won the toss and decided to field
ResultSussex won by 63 runs
PointsKent 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Sussex 21 (Batting 1, Bowling 4)
UmpiresDGL Evans, NT Plews
Close of play day 1Kent (1) 87/1 (Benson 23*, Pienaar 47*)
Close of play day 2Sussex (2) 160/1 (Lenham 66*, Parker 77*)
Close of play day 3Kent (2) 76/4 (Tavaré 28*, GR Cowdrey 36*)

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NJ Lenhamc Marsh b CS Cowdrey28      
AM Greenc CS Cowdrey b Igglesden9      
*PWG Parkerc CS Cowdrey b Igglesden0      
AP Wellsc CS Cowdrey b Pienaar39      
IJ Gouldc Tavaré b Pienaar23      
CM Wellslbw b Ellison13      
ACS Pigottnot out47      
+P Mooresc Marsh b Penn8      
AR Clarkec Pienaar b Igglesden4      
RA Buntingc Marsh b Igglesden0      
AM Babingtonc CS Cowdrey b Penn0      
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 6 nb, 4 w)13
Total(all out, 76.5 overs)184
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-24, 3-66, 4-108, 5-114, 6-137, 7-164, 8-169, 9-169, 10-184 (76.5 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Igglesden19   5534--
Ellison16   5341--
CS Cowdrey10   1281--
Harman1   100--
Pienaar10   4132--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Bensonc Gould b Pigott30      
NR Taylorc Moores b Pigott10      
RF Pienaarc Moores b Babington72      
CJ Tavaréc Moores b Pigott47      
*CS Cowdreylbw b Babington10      
GR Cowdreylbw b CM Wells0      
+SA Marshlbw b Babington0      
RM Ellisonc Moores b CM Wells32      
C Pennb CM Wells16      
MD Harmannot out1      
AP Igglesdenb CM Wells1      
Extras(10 lb, 4 w)14
Total(all out, 88.1 overs)233
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-96, 3-140, 4-162, 5-163, 6-164, 7-190, 8-226, 9-231, 10-233 (88.1 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Pigott24   3773--
Bunting20   7400--
CM Wells19.15434--
Babington25   6633--

Sussex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NJ Lenhamc Tavaré b Penn74      
AM Greenc CS Cowdrey b Pienaar9      
*PWG Parkerb Penn124      
AP Wellsc CS Cowdrey b Pienaar30      
IJ Gouldc Penn b Igglesden50      
CM Wellsc sub b Igglesden21      
ACS Pigottc GR Cowdrey b Penn20      
+P Mooresc CS Cowdrey b Penn2      
AR Clarkec Tavaré b Igglesden13      
RA Buntingb Igglesden0      
AM Babingtonnot out0      
Extras(1 b, 10 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)16
Total(all out, 119.2 overs)359
Fall of wickets:
1-36, 2-204, 3-233, 4-274, 5-317, 6-324, 7-346, 8-347, 9-350, 10-359 (119.2 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Penn31   101004--
Ellison8   0280--
CS Cowdrey10   2300--
Harman15   5400--
Pienaar25   8452--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Bensonc Moores b Pigott0      
NR Taylorlbw b Babington0      
RF Pienaarc Moores b Pigott6      
CJ Tavaréb Bunting97      
*CS Cowdreyc Green b Babington2      
GR Cowdreyb Babington50      
+SA Marshlbw b Bunting28      
C Pennc Babington b Pigott34      
MD Harmanc Moores b CM Wells12      
AP Igglesdenc Green b Pigott5      
RM Ellisonnot out0      
Extras(6 lb, 4 nb, 3 w)13
Total(all out, 98.4 overs)247
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-2, 3-12, 4-17, 5-113, 6-193, 7-202, 8-240, 9-242, 10-247 (98.4 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bunting14   4392--
CM Wells25   7551--
Babington27   8583--
Clarke3   230--

--> RF Pienaar (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 39
--> CJ Tavaré (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 1
--> PWG Parker (2) passed 14500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 117
--> CJ Tavaré (2) passed 13000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 57
--> RM Ellison reached 250 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Sussex first innings
--> C Penn reached 150 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Sussex first innings
--> ACS Pigott reached 350 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Kent second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive