Derbyshire v Hampshire
County Championship 1901
VenueCounty Ground, Derby on 5th, 6th, 7th August 1901 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDerbyshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultHampshire won by 5 wickets
PointsDerbyshire -1; Hampshire 1
UmpiresRG Barlow, JE West
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 131/2 (Greig 55*, Webb 66*)
Close of play day 2Derbyshire (2) 150/4 (Chatterton 37*, Sugg 2*)

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LG Wrightc Robson b Sprot21 75   
JP Burtonb Llewellyn41 105   
+W Storerlbw b Llewellyn53     
W Chattertonc Bignell b Raikes35     
W Suggb Llewellyn8     
E Needhamc Greig b Raikes9     
G Curgenvenc Barton b Llewellyn1     
*AE Lawtonst Robson b Raikes35     
JH Youngc Robson b Llewellyn0     
JJ Hulmec Webb b Raikes7     
W Bestwicknot out2     
Extras(14 b, 2 lb, 2 w)18
Total(all out, 85.2 overs)230
Fall of wickets:
1-53 (Wright), 2-99 (Burton), 3-132 (Storer), 4-148 (Sugg), 5-165 (Needham), 6-172 (Curgenven), 7-194 (Chatterton), 8-196 (Young), 9-216 (Hulme), 10-230 (Lawton, 85.2 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Soar12   2300--
Llewellyn33   910851-
Barton8   470--
Sprot5   271--
Steele3   11401-
Greig11   1160--

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Greigc Storer b Bestwick55     
*+C Robsonc Needham b Hulme0     
EM Sprotc Curgenven b Bestwick6     
AS Webblbw b Bestwick74     
VA Bartonb Hulme40     
CB Llewellync Burton b Hulme10     
GB Raikesb Hulme41     
T Soarb Hulme0     
HG Bignellb Bestwick0     
EC Leec Storer b Bestwick5     
DA Steelenot out4     
Extras(6 b, 1 lb)7
Total(all out, 90.5 overs)242
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (Robson), 2-10 (Sprot), 3-133 (Greig), 4-140 (Webb), 5-159 (Llewellyn), 6-229, 7-231, 8-232, 9-234, 10-242 (90.5 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hulme37   10735--
Curgenven5   1160--
Storer4   0290--
Young3   0110--
Lawton4   0170--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JP Burtonb Llewellyn13     
LG Wrightb Llewellyn32     
+W Storerst Robson b Raikes45     
W Chattertonb Soar87     
JH Youngc Lee b Llewellyn8     
W Suggc Llewellyn b Raikes14     
*AE Lawtonb Soar55     
E Needhamc Robson b Soar7     
JJ Hulmec Lee b Greig0     
G Curgenvennot out15     
W Bestwicklbw b Greig0     
Extras(15 b, 7 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)25
Total(all out, 94.5 overs)301
Fall of wickets:
1-21 (Burton), 2-59 (Wright), 3-131 (Storer), 4-140 (Young), 5-172 (Sugg), 6-263, 7-281, 8-286, 9-296, 10-301 (94.5 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Raikes26   2962-1
Llewellyn35   118731-
Soar14   4443-1
Sprot3   070--
Barton11   7170--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Greigb Hulme12     
*+C Robsonb Hulme7     
EM Sprotb Young130  19- 
AS Webbrun out18     
VA Bartonc Chatterton b Bestwick52     
GB Raikesnot out39     
CB Llewellynnot out25     
T Soardid not bat      
HG Bignelldid not bat      
EC Leedid not bat      
DA Steeledid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)10
Total(5 wickets, 76.3 overs)293
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-27, 3-84, 4-187, 5-253
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hulme23   3852--
Lawton4   0190--
Storer10   2490--
Curgenven5   0230--
Young4   1131--

--> G Curgenven made his debut in first-class matches
--> G Curgenven made his debut in County Championship matches
--> W Chatterton (1) passed 10500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 12
--> JG Greig (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 3
--> EM Sprot (2) passed his previous highest score of 103 in first-class matches
--> EM Sprot (2) passed his previous highest score of 103 in County Championship matches
--> GB Raikes achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Derbyshire first innings (previous best was 4-48)
--> JJ Hulme reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 5th wicket in the Hampshire first innings
--> CB Llewellyn reached 100 wickets in first-class matches for the season when he dismissed JP Burton, his 1st wicket in the Derbyshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive