New South Wales v Victoria
Sheffield Shield 1898/99
VenueSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney on 26th, 27th, 28th, 30th January 1899 (timeless match)
Balls per over6
TossNew South Wales won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNew South Wales won by 8 wickets
PointsNew South Wales 1; Victoria 0
UmpiresC Bannerman, RM Crockett
Close of play day 1New South Wales (1) 345/6 (Donnan 33*, Pye 20*)
Close of play day 2Victoria (1) 154/7 (Giller 62*, Trumble 12*)
Close of play day 3Victoria (2) 271/5 (Giller 0*)

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*SE Gregoryc Johns b Trumble45     
AL Newellc Johns b Giller6     
MA Noblec Johns b McLeod100     
FA Iredalec Laver b McLeod98     
H Donnanb Giller60     
ACK Mackenzieb McLeod12     
VT Trumperc Trumble b McLeod23     
LW Pyec Johns b McLeod20     
+JJ Kellynot out43     
TR McKibbinb Giller6     
WP Howellb McLeod20     
Extras(5 b, 1 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)9
Total(all out, 151.2 overs)442
Fall of wickets:
1-28 (Newell), 2-81 (Gregory), 3-245 (Noble), 4-262 (Iredale), 5-280 (Mackenzie), 6-322 (Trumper), 7-346 (Pye), 8-393 (Donnan), 9-415 (McKibbin), 10-442 (Howell, 151.2 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Trumble43   111201--
Giller21   5463--
Warne12   0500--
Laver17   7610--
Bruce5   0180--

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CE McLeodb McKibbin1     
FJ Laverb Noble16     
*J Worrallb McKibbin9     
JF Gillerc Gregory b Pye87     
H Grahamc Pye b Noble11     
JH Stuckeyc Kelly b Howell28     
TS Warneb Howell9     
W Bruceb Noble5     
H Trumblec Kelly b Pye24     
SA McMichaelc Noble b Howell19     
+AE Johnsnot out4     
Extras(2 lb)2
Total(all out, 90.5 overs)215
Fall of wickets:
1-1 (McLeod), 2-25 (Worrall), 3-27 (Laver), 4-51 (Graham), 5-100 (Stuckey), 6-126 (Warne), 7-137 (Bruce), 8-187 (Trumble), 9-194 (Giller), 10-215 (McMichael, 90.5 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Noble32   12773--
McKibbin26   5652--
Pye13   3482--

Victoria second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
*J Worrallc Iredale b Howell68     
SA McMichaelc Noble b Pye11     
H Grahamst Kelly b McKibbin124     
JH Stuckeyc Howell b Noble5     
FJ Laverb Noble55     
JF Gillerb Howell55     
CE McLeodb Noble1     
H Trumblec Pye b Noble19     
W Brucec Kelly b McKibbin7     
TS Warnenot out28     
+AE Johnsb Noble12     
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 2 nb, 3 w)11
Total(all out, 139.5 overs)396
Fall of wickets:
1-27 (McMichael), 2-93 (Worrall), 3-106 (Stuckey), 4-250 (Laver), 5-271 (Graham), 6-276 (McLeod), 7-304 (Trumble), 8-318 (Bruce), 9-376 (Giller), 10-396 (Johns, 139.5 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McKibbin29   3912--
Howell40   15732--
Pye21   6701--
Newell3   080--
Trumper4   0150--
Donnan1   100--

New South Wales second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*SE Gregoryb Laver46     
AL Newellrun out6     
ACK Mackenzienot out62     
FA Iredalenot out49     
MA Nobledid not bat      
H Donnandid not bat      
VT Trumperdid not bat      
LW Pyedid not bat      
+JJ Kellydid not bat      
TR McKibbindid not bat      
WP Howelldid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 1 nb, 1 w)7
Total(2 wickets, 57 overs)170
Fall of wickets:
1-18 (Newell), 2-72 (Gregory)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Trumble18   2400--
McLeod20   2640--
Giller5   0180--
Laver14   2411--
Worrall0   000--

--> AE Johns made his last appearance in Sheffield Shield matches
--> AL Newell made his last appearance in Sheffield Shield matches
--> TR McKibbin made his last appearance in Sheffield Shield matches
--> H Trumble (1) passed 3000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> H Graham (2) passed his previous highest score of 103 in Sheffield Shield matches
--> H Graham (2) passed his previous highest score of 107 in first-class matches
--> SE Gregory (2) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 19

Noble batted for 175 minutes for his 100, which included 12 fours. Graham hit a career-best 124 which took 200 minutes and included 19 fours. The match finished on a wide bowled by Worrall.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive