Kent v Nottinghamshire
County Championship 1898
VenueSt Lawrence Ground, Canterbury on 4th, 5th, 6th August 1898 (3-day match)
Balls per over5
TossNottinghamshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsKent 0; Nottinghamshire 0
UmpiresA Chester, JJ Tuck
Close of play day 1Nottinghamshire (1) 322/6 (Dixon 160*, JR Gunn 1*)
Close of play day 2Nottinghamshire (2) 16/3 (Dixon 9*)

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Shrewsburyc Huish b Mason24     
AO Jonesc Huish b Mason23     
W Gunnrun out3     
*JA Dixonc Huish b Mason165 30024- 
W Attewellb Martin44 70   
FH Guttridgec Bradley b Martin15 30   
CE Denchc Mason b Burnup39 100   
JR Gunnrun out9     
+TW Oatesnot out4     
WW Hensonb Hearne2     
P Masonabsent hurt
Extras(14 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)17
Total(all out, 150.1 overs)345
Fall of wickets:
1-44 (Jones), 2-47 (W Gunn), 3-66 (Shrewsbury), 4-153 (Attewell), 5-195 (Guttridge), 6-308 (Dench), 7-339, 8-339, 9-345 (150.1 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wright21   5600--
Mason46   16953-1
Bradley35   10800--
Martin21   12272--
Marchant5   1130--
Burnup4   251--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CJ Burnupc Oates b Jones54 758- 
A Hearnec Henson b Attewell58     
*JR Masonc Oates b Jones11     
WH Pattersonc Oates b Attewell6     
W Rashleighlbw b Jones10     
BD Bannonc Jones b Henson21     
F Marchantb JR Gunn43     
F Martinc Guttridge b JR Gunn24     
W Wrightnot out10     
+FH Huishb Mason6     
WM Bradleyc Henson b Attewell19     
Extras(3 b, 4 lb, 1 w)8
Total(all out, 108.4 overs)270
Fall of wickets:
1-101 (Burnup), 2-117, 3-121, 4-139, 5-147, 6-205, 7-221, 8-234, 9-242, 10-270 (108.4 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
JR Gunn18   6452--
Henson15   3481--
Guttridge3   0210--
Jones26   5673--
Mason5   1221--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CE Denchb Wright3     
JR Gunnb Wright0     
+TW Oatesb Mason0     
*JA Dixonb Wright13     
A Shrewsburynot out77     
W Gunnc Wright b Bradley28     
AO Jonesc Marchant b Bradley34 60   
FH Guttridgec Patterson b Martin12     
W Attewelldid not bat      
WW Hensondid not bat      
P Masondid not bat      
Extras(4 b)4
Total(7 wickets, declared, 77.1 overs)171
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-9, 3-16, 4-20, 5-72, 6-144, 7-171 (77.1 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wright19   6403--
Mason20   3411--
Bradley20   5372--
Hearne10   2350--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CJ Burnupc Jones b Attewell5     
A Hearnec Dixon b Guttridge34     
*JR Masonc Guttridge b Attewell40 60   
WH Pattersonnot out2     
W Rashleighnot out13     
BD Bannondid not bat      
F Marchantdid not bat      
F Martindid not bat      
W Wrightdid not bat      
+FH Huishdid not bat      
WM Bradleydid not bat      
Extras(2 lb, 2 w)4
Total(3 wickets, 125 minutes, 55 overs)98
Fall of wickets:
1-12 (Burnup), 2-73 (Mason), 3-81 (Hearne)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Attewell27   143722-
JR Gunn11   0320--
Henson8   2130--
Guttridge8   4121--
Mason1   100--

--> A Shrewsbury (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 4
--> CE Dench (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 32
--> A Hearne (1) passed 8500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 13
--> A Shrewsbury (2) passed 22000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 68
--> JR Mason reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Nottinghamshire first innings
--> A Hearne reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Nottinghamshire first innings
--> JR Mason reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Nottinghamshire first innings

HB Daft was suddenly taken ill prior to play on the first morning and P Mason arrived on the second day to make up the eleven
Kent were set 247 to win in 140 minutes





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive