Worcestershire v Northamptonshire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1987
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 12th, 14th, 15th September 1987 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWorcestershire won by 4 wickets
PointsWorcestershire 20 (Batting 2, Bowling 2); Northamptonshire 6 (Batting 4, Bowling 2)
UmpiresDJ Constant, JH Harris
Close of play day 1Northamptonshire (1) 82/4 (Williams 9*, Harper 2*)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (1) 215/6 (Hick 140*, Newport 10*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*G Cookc Rhodes b Newport7      
W Larkinsc Lord b Radford48      
RJ Baileylbw b Radford10      
AJ Lambc Newport b Radford2      
RG Williamsb McEwan25      
RA Harpernot out127      
DJ Wildnot out102      
+D Ripleydid not bat      
NGB Cookdid not bat      
G Smithdid not bat      
MA Robinsondid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 11 lb, 1 nb, 6 w)19
Total(5 wickets, declared, 72 overs)340
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-61, 3-65, 4-80, 5-119
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Radford17   3473--
Newport14   1651--
McEwan11   1651--
Hick17   0840--
Weston5   0330--
D'Oliveira8   0340--

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TS Curtislbw b Robinson12      
GJ Lordlbw b Smith10      
GA Hicknot out140      
DB D'Oliveirac G Cook b Smith2      
*PA Nealec and b NGB Cook14      
MJ Westonc Wild b Robinson2      
+SJ Rhodesc Smith b NGB Cook10      
PJ Newportnot out10      
NV Radforddid not bat      
IT Bothamdid not bat      
SM McEwandid not bat      
Extras(8 lb, 7 nb)15
Total(6 wickets, declared, 64 overs)215
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-40, 3-46, 4-99, 5-116, 6-163
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Robinson18   3532--
Smith9   2322--
Harper4   190--
Wild7   0270--
NGB Cook21   3622--
Williams5   1240--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*G Cookc sub b Radford0      
W Larkinsb Newport1      
RJ Baileyb Weston36      
AJ Lambc sub b Newport10      
RG Williamslbw b Radford0      
RA Harperretired hurt8      
DJ Wildc Hick b Radford10      
+D Ripleyc Rhodes b Radford16      
NGB Cookc Hick b Newport4      
G Smithc Hick b Newport6      
MA Robinsonnot out1      
Extras(1 b, 5 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)9
Total(all out, 37.5 overs)101
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-4, 3-34, 4-41, 5-67, 6-89, 7-94, 8-100, 9-101 (37.5 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Radford14   3354--
McEwan6   0200--
Weston5   1121--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TS Curtisc and b NGB Cook71      
GJ Lordb Smith6      
GA Hickc sub b NGB Cook56      
DB D'Oliveirab Williams20      
*PA Nealec Larkins b Williams34      
MJ Westonnot out28      
NV Radfordb Williams0      
+SJ Rhodesnot out0      
PJ Newportdid not bat      
IT Bothamdid not bat      
SM McEwandid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 6 lb, 1 nb)13
Total(6 wickets, 63.1 overs)228
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-93, 3-141, 4-177, 5-223, 6-224
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Robinson5   0150--
Smith6   0321--
Wild12   0600--
NGB Cook25.16532--
Williams15   2563--

--> GA Hick (1) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 55
--> RJ Bailey (2) passed 5000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 9
--> RA Harper made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> NGB Cook reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Worcestershire first innings
--> PJ Newport reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Northamptonshire second innings
--> MJ Weston reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Northamptonshire second innings
--> RG Williams reached 300 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Worcestershire second innings
--> RA Harper retired hurt in the Northamptonshire second innings having scored 8 (team had lost 4 wickets)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive