Northamptonshire v Essex
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1986
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 17th, 19th, 20th May 1986 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsNorthamptonshire 2 (Batting 2); Essex 4 (Bowling 4)
UmpiresDO Oslear, DR Shepherd
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Essex (1) 23/2 (Prichard 4*, Border 14*; 12 overs)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*G Cookb Acfield81      
AC Storiec Hardie b Pringle9      
RJ Boyd-Mossc and b Childs29      
AJ Lambc Hardie b Pringle1      
RJ Baileyc Border b Acfield26      
DJ Capelc Fletcher b Childs8      
RA Harperst East b Childs40      
+D Ripleyc Hardie b Acfield14      
NGB Cookc and b Childs16      
A Walkernot out1      
BJ Griffithsb Childs7      
Extras(7 b, 5 lb)12
Total(all out, 102.3 overs)244
Fall of wickets:
1-44, 2-89, 3-92, 4-136, 5-157, 6-161, 7-197, 8-233, 9-236, 10-244 (102.3 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lever8   3100--
Foster10   3320--
Pringle19   4392--
Acfield22   4543--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GA Goochlbw b Griffiths4      
BR Hardieb Griffiths1      
PJ Prichardnot out4      
AR Bordernot out14      
KWR Fletcherdid not bat      
DR Pringledid not bat      
+DE Eastdid not bat      
NA Fosterdid not bat      
DL Acfielddid not bat      
JH Childsdid not bat      
JK Leverdid not bat      
Total(2 wickets, 14 overs)23
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-5
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Griffiths7   3182--
Walker3   130--
Harper4   220--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> Northamptonshire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 238-9
--> RA Harper (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 32
--> JH Childs reached 400 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive