Leicestershire v Lancashire
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1985
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 31st July, 1st, 2nd August 1985 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLeicestershire 8 (Batting 4, Bowling 4); Lancashire 7 (Batting 3, Bowling 4)
UmpiresJ Birkenshaw, BJ Meyer
Close of play day 1Lancashire (1) 17/0 (Chadwick 9*, Varey 4*)
Close of play day 2Leicestershire (2) 11/0 (Butcher 1*, Balderstone 8*)

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IP Butcherc Maynard b Watkinson33      
JC Balderstoneb Murphy20      
RA Cobblbw b Watkinson59      
*P Willeyc Maynard b Makinson11      
JJ Whitakerc Lloyd b Watkinson7      
NE Brierslbw b Makinson61      
+MA Garnhamc Simmons b Makinson9      
PB Cliftc Maynard b Watkinson23      
GJ Parsonslbw b Watkinson29      
PAJ DeFreitasnot out30      
LB Taylorb Makinson20      
Extras(1 b, 8 lb, 5 nb, 11 w)25
Total(all out, 100.3 overs)327
Fall of wickets:
1-54, 2-62, 3-85, 4-98, 5-175, 6-190, 7-226, 8-262, 9-285, 10-327 (100.3 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Watkinson40   101095--
Murphy20   4711--
Fairbrother4   250--
Simmons11   4230--

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Chadwickc Garnham b Taylor13      
DW Vareyb Willey41      
G Fowlerc Cobb b DeFreitas10      
NH Fairbrotherc Garnham b Parsons13      
CH Lloydc Clift b Taylor131      
*J Abrahamsc and b Taylor9      
M Watkinsonlbw b Clift14      
J Simmonsc Garnham b Clift0      
+C Maynardc Garnham b Taylor7      
DJ Makinsonc Willey b Parsons15      
AJ Murphynot out2      
Extras(10 b, 11 nb, 2 w)23
Total(all out, 105.3 overs)278
Fall of wickets:
1-32, 2-50, 3-83, 4-95, 5-115, 6-183, 7-183, 8-203, 9-231, 10-278 (105.3 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Clift29   10642--
DeFreitas23   5711--
Parsons20   5582--
Willey6   2231--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
IP Butcherb Makinson1      
JC Balderstonelbw b Murphy26      
RA Cobbnot out66      
*P Willeyc Fairbrother b Makinson37      
JJ Whitakernot out66      
NE Briersdid not bat      
+MA Garnhamdid not bat      
PB Cliftdid not bat      
GJ Parsonsdid not bat      
PAJ DeFreitasdid not bat      
LB Taylordid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 4 nb)11
Total(3 wickets, declared, 76 overs)207
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-33, 3-100
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Makinson22   7532--
Watkinson17   4470--
Murphy8   4181--
Simmons22   1680--
Abrahams7   2140--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Chadwickc Garnham b Taylor8      
DW Vareyc Garnham b Taylor20      
G Fowlerc Butcher b DeFreitas13      
NH Fairbrotherc Cobb b DeFreitas1      
*J Abrahamsc Garnham b DeFreitas4      
M Watkinsonb DeFreitas9      
CH Lloydlbw b Taylor16      
DJ Makinsonc Taylor b DeFreitas1      
J Simmonsnot out4      
+C Maynardnot out0      
AJ Murphydid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 3 nb)5
Total(8 wickets, 35.5 overs)81
Fall of wickets:
1-27, 2-32, 3-40, 4-49, 5-56, 6-65, 7-77, 8-77
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
DeFreitas13   3395--
Briers12   5280--

--> Leicestershire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 322-9
--> Lancashire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 253-9
--> IP Butcher (1) passed 3500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 25
--> JC Balderstone (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 13
--> PAJ DeFreitas made his debut in County Championship matches
--> AJ Murphy made his debut in first-class matches
--> AJ Murphy made his debut in County Championship matches
--> P Willey (2) passed 14000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 6
--> PAJ DeFreitas achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Lancashire second innings (previous best was 3-3)
--> PAJ DeFreitas achieved his first five wickets in an innings in first-class matches in the Lancashire second innings
--> PAJ DeFreitas achieved his first five wickets in an innings in County Championship matches in the Lancashire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive