Hampshire v Sussex
Britannic Assurance County Championship 1984
VenueDean Park, Bournemouth on 27th, 28th, 29th June 1984 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossHampshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultHampshire won by 108 runs
PointsHampshire 23 (Batting 3, Bowling 4); Sussex 4 (Batting 2, Bowling 2)
UmpiresJ Birkenshaw, A Jepson
ScorersLV Chandler (Sussex), VH Isaacs (Hampshire)
Close of play day 1Hampshire (1) 356 all out
Close of play day 2Hampshire (2) 80/5 (Maru 16*, Pocock 11*)

Hampshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VP Terryc Waller b CM Wells136      
CL Smithst Gould b Waller29      
MCJ Nicholaslbw b Reeve24      
TE Jestyc Barclay b CM Wells16      
*NEJ Pocockb le Roux9      
NGC Cowleyc AP Wells b Barclay80      
TM Tremlettb Barclay32      
EL Reiferlbw b Reeve6      
CA Connorst Gould b Barclay0      
RJ Marurun out9      
+RJ Parksnot out3      
Extras(11 lb, 1 nb)12
Total(all out, 116.3 overs)356
Fall of wickets:
1-101, 2-153, 3-209, 4-214, 5-226, 6-337, 7-343, 8-343, 9-346, 10-356 (116.3 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
le Roux13   3331--
Reeve25   8852--
Waller42   18871--
Greig5   0290--
CM Wells7   3272--

Sussex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AM Greenc Terry b Reifer31      
DJ Woodb Connor12      
*JRT Barclayc Parks b Connor0      
PWG Parkerb Reifer14      
CM Wellsc Nicholas b Tremlett8      
AP Wellsc Tremlett b Cowley28      
IA Greigc Parks b Tremlett14      
+IJ Gouldb Maru32      
DA Reeveb Maru65      
GS le Rouxc Pocock b Cowley4      
CE Wallernot out2      
Extras(10 b, 3 lb, 4 nb, 5 w)22
Total(all out, 85.5 overs)232
Fall of wickets:
1-30, 2-30, 3-69, 4-80, 5-80, 6-111, 7-132, 8-212, 9-230, 10-232 (85.5 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Reifer15   5342--
Connor23   8602--
Tremlett18   9362--
Cowley14   4362--
Smith3   0200--

Hampshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
VP Terryb CM Wells22      
CL Smithlbw b le Roux3      
MCJ Nicholasc Barclay b CM Wells22      
TE Jestylbw b le Roux1      
NGC Cowleyrun out0      
RJ Maruc Reeve b CM Wells36      
*NEJ Pococklbw b CM Wells15      
TM Tremlettc Gould b Waller4      
+RJ Parksc Barclay b Waller0      
EL Reiferb Waller0      
CA Connornot out1      
Extras(6 lb, 1 nb)7
Total(all out, 48 overs)111
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-38, 3-47, 4-49, 5-51, 6-90, 7-105, 8-105, 9-109, 10-111 (48 ov)
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
le Roux13   6222--
Reeve4   0210--
Waller8   5103--
Greig3   090--
CM Wells20   7424--

Sussex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AM Greenc Parks b Tremlett5      
DJ Woodc Pocock b Cowley5      
*JRT Barclayc Parks b Tremlett6      
PWG Parkerc Cowley b Maru35      
CM Wellsb Connor14      
AP Wellsrun out12      
IA Greigc Connor b Maru2      
+IJ Gouldc Smith b Cowley2      
DA Reevec Reifer b Maru8      
GS le Rouxc Nicholas b Maru28      
CE Wallernot out0      
Extras(7 lb, 3 nb)10
Total(all out, 59.3 overs)127
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-19, 3-19, 4-54, 5-85, 6-86, 7-89, 8-89, 9-107, 10-127 (59.3 ov)
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Reifer7   2180--
Connor13   2201--
Tremlett18   7162--
Cowley11   3402--

--> Hampshire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 257-5
--> VP Terry (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 91
--> VP Terry (1) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 126
--> IA Greig (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 4
--> RJ Maru (2) passed his previous highest score of 30 in County Championship matches
--> RJ Maru (2) passed his previous highest score of 30 in first-class matches
--> DJ Wood made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> DJ Wood made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> GS le Roux (2) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 6
--> CM Wells achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Hampshire second innings (previous best was 4-69)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive