Lancashire v Essex
Schweppes County Championship 1983
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 31st August, 1st, 2nd September 1983 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLancashire 4 (Bowling 4); Essex 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresWE Alley, DO Oslear
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 160/8 (DE East 27*)
Close of play day 2Lancashire (2) 206/9 (Jefferies 40*, Allott 0*)

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Fowlerlbw b Lever4     
MR Chadwicklbw b Lever1     
SJ O'Shaughnessyb Lever13     
FC Hayesc DE East b Lever2     
SM Nasir Zaidib Phillip4     
ST Jefferiesc and b Lever16     
*J Simmonsc Fletcher b Phillip5     
+J Stanworthnot out31     
DP Hughesc DE East b Phillip13     
M Watkinsonc DE East b Phillip0     
PJW Allottc DE East b Phillip22     
Extras(1 b, 4 lb, 5 nb, 1 w)11
Total(all out, 46 overs)122
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-18, 3-19, 4-23, 5-30, 6-34, 7-57, 8-84, 9-88, 10-122 (46 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lever20   6535--
Phillip23   7545--
Pringle1   040--
Acfield2   200--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GA Goochc Hughes b Jefferies17     
C Gladwinlbw b Allott31     
BR Hardiec Jefferies b Watkinson17     
KS McEwanc Allott b Watkinson17     
*KWR Fletcherb Watkinson8     
DR Pringleb Simmons18     
N Phillipc Chadwick b Jefferies15     
+DE Eastc Stanworth b Nasir Zaidi61     
RE Eastb Simmons0     
JK Leverc Simmons b Nasir Zaidi44     
DL Acfieldnot out6     
Extras(6 lb, 5 nb)11
Total(all out, 78.5 overs)245
Fall of wickets:
1-39, 2-51, 3-86, 4-87, 5-99, 6-112, 7-156, 8-160, 9-218, 10-245 (78.5 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jefferies17   3612--
Allott17   4341--
Watkinson18   3673--
O'Shaughnessy4   0180--
Simmons14   5222--
Nasir Zaidi8.50322--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Fowlerc RE East b Phillip5     
MR Chadwicklbw b Acfield1     
SJ O'Shaughnessyc and b RE East46     
FC Hayesb Acfield19     
DP Hughesc Lever b RE East68     
*J Simmonsc Gooch b Acfield6     
SM Nasir Zaidib Acfield2     
ST Jefferiesnot out75     
+J Stanworthb Acfield4     
M Watkinsonb Acfield0     
PJW Allottc McEwan b Acfield35     
Extras(1 b, 16 lb, 5 nb, 1 w)23
Total(all out, 115.2 overs)284
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-7, 3-45, 4-109, 5-122, 6-146, 7-170, 8-203, 9-207, 10-284 (115.2 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lever18   2600--
Phillip19   5511--
RE East29   13502--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GA Goochc Stanworth b Allott7     
C Gladwinrun out38     
BR Hardiec Hayes b Jefferies0     
KS McEwanb Watkinson30     
*KWR Fletchernot out1     
DR Pringlenot out7     
N Phillipdid not bat      
+DE Eastdid not bat      
RE Eastdid not bat      
JK Leverdid not bat      
DL Acfielddid not bat      
Extras(6 lb, 2 nb)8
Total(4 wickets, 29 overs)91
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-10, 3-78, 4-79
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jefferies8   2161--
Allott6   2171--
Watkinson7   1261--
O'Shaughnessy3   0180--
Simmons5   360--

--> MR Chadwick made his debut in first-class matches
--> MR Chadwick made his debut in County Championship matches
--> J Stanworth (1) passed his previous highest score of 14 in first-class matches
--> J Stanworth (1) passed his previous highest score of 14 in County Championship matches
--> KS McEwan (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 5
--> DL Acfield (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 2
--> ST Jefferies (2) passed his previous highest score of 45 in County Championship matches
--> ST Jefferies (2) passed his previous highest score of 63 in first-class matches
--> N Phillip reached 350 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Lancashire first innings
--> J Simmons reached 650 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Essex first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive