Kent v Worcestershire
Schweppes County Championship 1983
VenueSt Lawrence Ground, Canterbury on 6th, 8th, 9th August 1983 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsKent 5 (Batting 3, Bowling 2); Worcestershire 6 (Batting 3, Bowling 3)
UmpiresHD Bird, RA Harris
Close of play day 1Worcestershire (1) 351/7 (Curtis 79*, Inchmore 26*)
Close of play day 2Kent (1) 276 all out

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Ormrodc Cowdrey b Underwood46      
MJ Westonb Baptiste9      
*PA Nealec Baptiste b Underwood56      
DN Patelc Benson b Underwood30      
DB D'Oliveirab Underwood11      
TS Curtisb Johnson84      
+DJ Humphriesst Knott b Underwood59      
RK Illingworthc Knott b Underwood17      
JD Inchmorest Knott b Underwood41      
RM Ellcocknot out0      
AP Pridgeonabsent hurt
Extras(9 lb, 12 nb, 2 w)23
Total(all out, 123.4 overs)376
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-110, 3-121, 4-153, 5-163, 6-264, 7-304, 8-374, 9-376 (123.4 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jarvis20   2550--
Ellison11   1300--
Baptiste18   0881--
Johnson27   6731--
Woolmer3   240--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RA Woolmerrun out5      
MR Bensonc Ormrod b Illingworth53      
*CJ Tavaréc Inchmore b Illingworth93      
DG Aslettb Illingworth5      
CS Cowdreyb Ellcock33      
EAE Baptisteb Inchmore9      
+APE Knottlbw b Illingworth21      
GW Johnsonc Patel b Inchmore9      
RM Ellisonnot out18      
DL Underwoodc Humphries b Inchmore1      
KBS Jarvisb Inchmore0      
Extras(8 b, 9 lb, 8 nb, 4 w)29
Total(all out, 105.5 overs)276
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-112, 3-118, 4-168, 5-197, 6-230, 7-243, 8-268, 9-276, 10-276 (105.5 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ellcock13   3371--
Patel39   14860--
Illingworth39   7864--
Pridgeon3   160--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Ormrodc Benson b Underwood14      
MJ Westonc Aslett b Underwood5      
*PA Nealec Knott b Underwood38      
DN Patelb Underwood32      
+DJ Humphriesc Benson b Underwood2      
DB D'Oliveirac Ellison b Johnson0      
TS Curtisc Johnson b Underwood9      
RK Illingworthb Johnson1      
JD Inchmorec Knott b Underwood0      
RM Ellcockb Johnson11      
AP Pridgeonnot out1      
Extras(7 b, 11 lb, 10 w)28
Total(all out, 47.3 overs)141
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-48, 3-74, 4-77, 5-78, 6-122, 7-123, 8-123, 9-129, 10-141 (47.3 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jarvis2   060--
Ellison7   2150--
Underwood22   6557--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RA Woolmerc D'Oliveira b Ellcock3      
MR Bensonc Curtis b Patel57      
*CJ Tavaréc Humphries b Pridgeon13      
DG Aslettc Patel b Pridgeon43      
CS Cowdreynot out43      
EAE Baptistest Humphries b Patel13      
+APE Knottc D'Oliveira b Patel1      
GW Johnsonst Humphries b Patel9      
RM Ellisonnot out0      
DL Underwooddid not bat      
KBS Jarvisdid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 10 lb, 1 w)17
Total(7 wickets, 57 overs)199
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-36, 3-117, 4-149, 5-185, 6-187, 7-199
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ellcock10   1281--
Patel23   3884--
Illingworth14   3360--
Pridgeon10   2302--

--> Worcestershire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 286-6
--> Kent score at 100 overs in the first innings was 264-7
--> PA Neale (1) passed 8500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 49
--> TS Curtis (1) passed his previous highest score of 59 in County Championship matches
--> MR Benson (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 16
--> DG Aslett (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 14
--> DG Aslett (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 14
--> DG Aslett (2) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 32
--> DL Underwood reached 1600 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Worcestershire second innings
--> AP Pridgeon reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Kent second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive