Lancashire v Somerset
National Westminster Bank Trophy 1983 (2nd Round)
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 20th July 1983 (60-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSomerset won the toss and decided to field
ResultSomerset won by 8 wickets
UmpiresJW Holder, J van Geloven
Man of the MatchNFM Popplewell

Lancashire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
G Fowlerb Richards29      
D Lloydlbw b Garner3      
FC Hayesc Slocombe b Dredge16      
*CH Lloydc and b Richards6      
J Abrahamsc Gard b Dredge21      
SJ O'Shaughnessynot out49      
+C Maynardc Botham b Garner16      
J Simmonsnot out6      
M Watkinsondid not bat      
P Leverdid not bat      
LL McFarlanedid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 10 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)17
Total(6 wickets, innings closed, 60 overs)163
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-35, 3-57, 4-62, 5-94, 6-119
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Garner12   6252--   36.002.08
Botham11   3330--   -3.00
Marks12   4220--   -1.83
Dredge11   1302--   33.002.73
Richards10   2232--   30.002.30
Popplewell4   1130--   -3.25

Somerset inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
PM Roebucknot out43      
JW Lloydsc Simmons b McFarlane5      
IVA Richardsst Maynard b Simmons32      
NFM Popplewellnot out68      
PW Denningdid not bat      
*IT Bothamdid not bat      
PA Slocombedid not bat      
VJ Marksdid not bat      
+T Garddid not bat      
CH Dredgedid not bat      
J Garnerdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 9 lb, 3 nb, 3 w)16
Total(2 wickets, 52.5 overs)164
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-66
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Lever7.52170--   -2.17
McFarlane12   4181--   72.001.50
O'Shaughnessy4   0240--   -6.00
Simmons12   0321--   72.002.67
D Lloyd7   0180--   -2.57
Watkinson8   0200--   -2.50
Abrahams2   0190--   -9.50

--> SJ O'Shaughnessy passed his previous highest score of 45 in ListA matches
--> P Lever made his last appearance in ListA matches
--> NFM Popplewell passed 1000 runs in ListA matches when he reached 38





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive