Surrey v Yorkshire
Schweppes County Championship 1982
VenueKennington Oval, Kennington on 11th, 13th, 14th September 1982 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
PointsSurrey 4 (Batting 3, Bowling 1); Yorkshire 3 (Batting 3)
UmpiresKhalid Ibadulla, AGT Whitehead
Close of play day 1Yorkshire (1) 244/4 (Athey 67*, Love 76*)
Close of play day 2Yorkshire (2) 53/0 (Boycott 18*, Moxon 31*)

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Boycottc Richards b Thomas27      
MD Moxon hit wkt b Jackman40      
CWJ Atheynot out114      
SN Hartleyc Knight b Clarke3      
K Sharplbw b Pocock15      
JD Lovec Richards b Thomas123      
+DL Bairstowc Richards b Jackman1      
A Sidebottomc Smith b Mackintosh12      
GB Stevensonb Mackintosh34      
SJ Dennisnot out5      
*R Illingworthdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 10 lb, 6 nb, 1 w)19
Total(8 wickets, declared, 127 overs)393
Fall of wickets:
1-70, 2-70, 3-84, 4-116, 5-308, 6-313, 7-336, 8-382
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Clarke12   6261--
Jackman32   9922--
Thomas28   8752--
Mackintosh22   5762--
Knight10   5210--
Pocock23   5841--

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Butcherc Boycott b Stevenson14      
GP Howarthnot out126      
DM Smithnot out100      
MA Lynchdid not bat      
*RDV Knightdid not bat      
DJ Thomasdid not bat      
+CJ Richardsdid not bat      
ST Clarkedid not bat      
RD Jackmandid not bat      
KS Mackintoshdid not bat      
PI Pocockdid not bat      
Extras(7 lb, 9 nb, 1 w)17
Total(1 wicket, declared, 51 overs)257
Fall of wickets:
1-25 (Butcher)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dennis15   1730--
Stevenson9   0321--
Sidebottom10   3590--
Illingworth11   1480--
Hartley6   0280--

Yorkshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
G Boycottc Richards b Pocock37      
MD Moxonb Pocock54      
CWJ Atheyc Lynch b Butcher19      
SN Hartleyb Lynch28      
K Sharpb Lynch52      
JD Lovec Knight b Clarke1      
+DL Bairstowc Richards b Clarke1      
A Sidebottomnot out7      
GB Stevensondid not bat      
SJ Dennisdid not bat      
*R Illingworthdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 3 nb)10
Total(7 wickets, declared, 61.5 overs)209
Fall of wickets:
1-94, 2-111, 3-119, 4-178, 5-187, 6-191, 7-209 (61.5 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Clarke6   2132--
Jackman9   3220--
Thomas12   2270--
Mackintosh3   0120--
Pocock20   3702--
Butcher5   0321--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Butcherc Bairstow b Dennis47      
GP Howarthb Illingworth43      
DM Smithc Love b Dennis75      
MA Lynchrun out0      
*RDV Knightb Sidebottom35      
DJ Thomasc Athey b Sidebottom8      
+CJ Richardslbw b Sidebottom3      
ST Clarkeb Sidebottom3      
RD Jackmannot out40      
KS Mackintoshnot out11      
PI Pocockdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 7 lb, 13 nb, 7 w)29
Total(8 wickets, 66 overs)294
Fall of wickets:
1-89, 2-117, 3-117, 4-194, 5-229, 6-235, 7-235, 8-253
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Dennis19   3802--
Stevenson13   2520--
Sidebottom18   2664--
Illingworth16   0671--

--> Yorkshire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 268-4
--> CWJ Athey (1) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 88
--> GP Howarth (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 44
--> GP Howarth (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 11
--> DM Smith (1) passed 4000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 95
--> DM Smith (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 75
--> DM Smith (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 10
--> RDV Knight (2) passed 17000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 6
--> RD Jackman made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> DJ Thomas reached 100 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Yorkshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive