Leicestershire v Northamptonshire
Schweppes County Championship 1982
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 29th, 31st May, 1st June 1982 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLeicestershire 5 (Batting 4, Bowling 1); Northamptonshire 7 (Batting 4, Bowling 3)
UmpiresHD Bird, DR Shepherd
Close of play day 1Leicestershire (1) 9/0 (Balderstone 6*, Steele 2*)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (2) 21/1 (Larkins 11*, Mallender 2*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*G Cookc Taylor b Steele125      
W Larkinsc Gower b Clift24      
P Willeyc Garnham b Taylor14      
AJ Lambc Briers b Cook102      
DJ Capelc Parsons b Cook15      
DS Steelenot out49      
RM Carternot out18      
NA Mallenderdid not bat      
+G Sharpdid not bat      
Sarfraz Nawazdid not bat      
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 2 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)7
Total(5 wickets, declared, 120 overs)354
Fall of wickets:
1-43, 2-68, 3-265, 4-275, 5-313
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Taylor19   2521--
Parsons16   4650--
Clift22   4691--
Cook36   11882--
Briers1   040--
Steele17   4501--
Balderstone9   1190--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JC Balderstonec Cook b Steele98      
JF Steelec Steele b Griffiths5      
DI Gowerc Carter b Mallender54      
BF Davisonc Sarfraz Nawaz b Steele14      
NE Briersc Larkins b Sarfraz Nawaz71      
*RW Tolchardb Griffiths16      
+MA Garnhamc Mallender b Steele1      
PB Cliftc Lamb b Steele17      
GJ Parsonsrun out4      
NGB Cooknot out19      
LB Taylornot out2      
Extras(7 lb, 11 nb)18
Total(9 wickets, declared, 104 overs)319
Fall of wickets:
1-33, 2-121, 3-136, 4-202, 5-232, 6-241, 7-271, 8-291, 9-300
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz14   3381--
Griffiths21   7552--
Steele33   8964--
Mallender13   3401--
Willey22   0690--
Capel1   030--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*G Cookc Garnham b Taylor3      
W Larkinsc and b Cook28      
NA Mallenderc Tolchard b Balderstone42      
P Willeynot out88      
AJ Lambc Briers b Cook13      
DJ Capelb Balderstone0      
DS Steelec Cook b Balderstone0      
RM Carterb Balderstone18      
+G Sharpc Taylor b Cook11      
Sarfraz Nawaznot out14      
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 8 lb, 2 nb, 5 w)16
Total(8 wickets, declared, 68 overs)233
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-65, 3-123, 4-142, 5-148, 6-148, 7-194, 8-214
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Taylor15   4461--
Parsons2   140--
Cook32   71163--
Balderstone19   6514--

Leicestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JC Balderstonerun out5      
NE Briersc and b Griffiths5      
DI Gowerc Griffiths b Willey52      
BF Davisonc Sarfraz Nawaz b Mallender52      
+MA Garnhamc Steele b Willey0      
*RW Tolchardc Sarfraz Nawaz b Steele17      
PB Cliftc Carter b Willey18      
JF Steelenot out12      
GJ Parsonsnot out4      
NGB Cookdid not bat      
LB Taylordid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 3 nb, 1 w)9
Total(7 wickets, 56 overs)174
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-17, 3-112, 4-112, 5-121, 6-138, 7-169
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz3   0120--
Griffiths6   1171--
Steele24   7811--
Mallender1   041--
Willey21   10493--
Cook1   020--

--> Northamptonshire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 304-4
--> Leicestershire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 300-8
--> AJ Lamb (1) passed 10500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 16
--> DJ Capel made his debut in County Championship matches
--> DS Steele (1) passed 20500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 21
--> P Willey (2) passed 9000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 20
--> NA Mallender (2) passed his previous highest score of 18 in County Championship matches
--> NA Mallender (2) passed his previous highest score of 18 in first-class matches
--> NGB Cook reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Northamptonshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive