Northamptonshire v Essex
Schweppes County Championship 1980
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 20th, 21st, 22nd August 1980 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsNorthamptonshire 4 (Batting 4); Essex 7 (Batting 4, Bowling 3)
UmpiresR Julian, AGT Whitehead
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 48/0 (Denness 27*, McEvoy 20*)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (2) 79/3 (AJ Lamb 0*, Boyd-Moss 1*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*G Cookc McEwan b Acfield109     
W Larkinsc Smith b Turner98     
RG Williamsc Smith b Turner2     
AJ Lambc McEwan b Phillip48     
RJ Boyd-Mosslbw b Turner2     
TJ Yardleyb Phillip19     
RM Carterlbw b Phillip9     
+G Sharpnot out11     
NA Mallendernot out0     
TM Lambdid not bat      
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 9 nb)16
Total(7 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)314
Fall of wickets:
1-216, 2-217, 3-224, 4-226, 5-269, 6-295, 7-306
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lever13   2450--
Phillip17   1993--
Turner29   10573--
East8   1390--
Acfield33   9581--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MH Dennessc TM Lamb b Williams67     
MSA McEvoyc Larkins b TM Lamb27     
KS McEwannot out140     
*KWR Fletchernot out81     
BR Hardiedid not bat      
S Turnerdid not bat      
N Phillipdid not bat      
RE Eastdid not bat      
+N Smithdid not bat      
JK Leverdid not bat      
DL Acfielddid not bat      
Extras(4 lb, 2 nb)6
Total(2 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)321
Fall of wickets:
1-83, 2-119
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Griffiths22   3660--
TM Lamb24   6681--
Williams32   5821--
Mallender15   2670--
Boyd-Moss7   0320--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*G Cooklbw b Acfield29     
W Larkinsc Fletcher b East26     
RG Williamsb East19     
AJ Lambc McEvoy b Acfield37     
RJ Boyd-Mossc East b Lever56     
TJ Yardleyb Lever48     
RM Carterlbw b Lever6     
+G Sharpb Acfield7     
NA Mallenderst Smith b Acfield0     
TM Lambnot out2     
BJ Griffithsdid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 10 lb)17
Total(9 wickets, declared, 100.3 overs)247
Fall of wickets:
1-37, 2-78, 3-78, 4-122, 5-223, 6-234, 7-243, 8-243, 9-247 (100.3 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lever15   3333--
Phillip11   2310--
Turner12   2210--
East36   8962--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MH Dennesslbw b Griffiths4     
MSA McEvoyb Griffiths22     
KS McEwanc Boyd-Moss b TM Lamb16     
*KWR Fletcherc Larkins b Williams14     
BR Hardieb Mallender37     
S Turnerc Cook b Mallender12     
N Phillipb Mallender10     
RE Eastb Griffiths8     
+N Smithc Boyd-Moss b Griffiths4     
JK Levernot out1     
DL Acfieldnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 15 lb)16
Total(9 wickets, 48 overs)144
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-25, 3-53, 4-73, 5-117, 6-128, 7-132, 8-139, 9-144
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Griffiths14   6444--
TM Lamb8   2221--
Williams14   4331--
Mallender12   3293--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> NA Mallender made his debut in County Championship matches
--> KS McEwan (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 72
--> KS McEwan (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 124
--> KS McEwan (1) passed 13000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 64
--> KWR Fletcher (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 81
--> KWR Fletcher (1) passed 29500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 60
--> W Larkins (2) passed 6500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 14
--> RJ Boyd-Moss (2) passed his previous highest score of 34 in County Championship matches
--> NA Mallender achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Essex second innings (previous best was 1-61)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive