Essex v Northamptonshire
Benson and Hedges Cup 1980 (Final)
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 19th, 21st July 1980 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthamptonshire won by 6 runs
UmpiresDJ Constant, BJ Meyer
Close of play day 1No play
Man of the MatchAJ Lamb

Northamptonshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
G Cookc Gooch b Pont29      
W Larkinsc Denness b Pont18      
RG Williamsc McEwan b Pont15      
AJ Lambc Hardie b Phillip72      
P Willeyc McEwan b Turner15      
TJ Yardleyc Smith b Gooch0      
+G Sharpc Fletcher b Pont8      
*PJ Wattsrun out22      
Sarfraz Nawaznot out10      
TM Lamblbw b Turner4      
BJ Griffithsb Turner0      
Extras(1 b, 8 lb, 3 nb, 4 w)16
Total(all out, 54.5 overs)209
Fall of wickets:
1-36, 2-61, 3-78, 4-110, 5-110, 6-131, 7-190, 8-193, 9-209, 10-209 (54.5 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Lever11   3380--   -3.45
Phillip11   1381--   66.003.45
Turner10.52333--   21.673.05
Pont11   1604--   16.505.45
Gooch11   0241--   66.002.18

Essex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
MH Dennessb Willey14      
GA Goochc AJ Lamb b TM Lamb60      
KS McEwanb Willey38      
*KWR Fletcherb Sarfraz Nawaz29      
BR Hardieb Watts0      
KR Pontb Williams2      
S Turnerc Watts b Sarfraz Nawaz16      
N Phillipnot out32      
+N Smithb Sarfraz Nawaz2      
RE Eastnot out1      
JK Leverdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 5 lb, 3 w)9
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)203
Fall of wickets:
1-52, 2-112, 3-118, 4-121, 5-129, 6-160, 7-180, 8-198
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Sarfraz Nawaz11   3233--   22.002.09
Griffiths7   0460--   -6.57
Watts8   1301--   48.003.75
TM Lamb11   0421--   66.003.82
Willey11   1342--   33.003.09
Williams7   0191--   42.002.71

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to two.
--> AJ Lamb passed 1500 runs in ListA matches when he reached 44





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive