Derbyshire v Somerset
Schweppes County Championship 1980
VenueQueen's Park, Chesterfield on 12th, 14th, 15th July 1980 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSomerset won the toss and decided to bat
ResultDerbyshire won by 9 wickets
PointsDerbyshire 20 (Batting 4, Bowling 4); Somerset 4 (Batting 2, Bowling 2)
UmpiresC Cook, J van Geloven
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 1/0 (Wood 0*, Wright 0*)
Close of play day 2Derbyshire (1) 340/8 (Taylor 2*)

Somerset first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Gavaskarc Walters b Tunnicliffe26     
M Olivec Steele b Hendrick21     
PM Roebucklbw b Tunnicliffe0     
PW Denningb Oldham38     
PA Slocombec Kirsten b Miller23     
*VJ Marksb Hendrick29     
+DJS Taylorlbw b Hendrick28     
NFM Popplewellc Wood b Hendrick3     
CH Dredgec Taylor b Hendrick21     
KF Jenningslbw b Oldham21     
HR Moseleynot out12     
Extras(6 lb, 3 nb)9
Total(all out, 96.3 overs)231
Fall of wickets:
1-41, 2-41, 3-60, 4-108, 5-128, 6-149, 7-155, 8-189, 9-202, 10-231 (96.3 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hendrick34   12645--
Tunnicliffe24   5642--
Miller15   8271--
Wood4   050--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Woodc Taylor b Dredge48     
JG Wrightst Taylor b Popplewell72     
PN Kirstenc Jennings b Dredge101     
DS Steelec Denning b Marks38     
KJ Barnettb Dredge41     
*G Millerb Dredge19     
J Waltersc Marks b Popplewell3     
CJ Tunnicliffec Marks b Dredge0     
+RW Taylornot out2     
M Hendrickdid not bat      
S Oldhamdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 7 lb, 6 nb, 1 w)16
Total(8 wickets, declared, 102 overs)340
Fall of wickets:
1-110, 2-132, 3-227, 4-277, 5-309, 6-336, 7-336, 8-340 (102 ov)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Moseley23   8530--
Dredge29   6685--
Jennings13   2420--
Popplewell15   1782--
Marks21   1811--
Roebuck1   020--

Somerset second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SM Gavaskarc Oldham b Hendrick6     
M Olivec Miller b Steele15     
PM Roebuckc Taylor b Miller33     
PW Denningc Taylor b Miller5     
PA Slocombec Miller b Hendrick2     
*VJ Marksc Wood b Steele8     
+DJS Taylorc Wood b Steele48     
NFM Popplewelllbw b Miller1     
CH Dredgec Miller b Hendrick5     
KF Jenningsnot out17     
HR Moseleyc Tunnicliffe b Miller16     
Extras(3 nb)3
Total(all out, 61.3 overs)159
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-32, 3-59, 4-64, 5-64, 6-114, 7-117, 8-121, 9-142, 10-159 (61.3 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hendrick17   3493--
Tunnicliffe5   280--
Oldham3   1110--
Steele17   5343--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
B Woodnot out22     
JG Wrightc Denning b Slocombe25     
PN Kirstennot out0     
DS Steeledid not bat      
KJ Barnettdid not bat      
*G Millerdid not bat      
J Waltersdid not bat      
CJ Tunnicliffedid not bat      
+RW Taylordid not bat      
M Hendrickdid not bat      
S Oldhamdid not bat      
Extras(4 lb, 1 w)5
Total(1 wicket, 21.2 overs)52
Fall of wickets:
1-48 (Wright)
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Moseley6   1100--
Dredge3   0130--
Jennings4   150--
Marks6   180--
Slocombe1   051--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> Derbyshire score at 100 overs in the first innings was 334-5
--> M Olive (1) passed his previous highest score of 15 in County Championship matches
--> KF Jennings (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 21
--> JG Wright (1) passed 3000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 3
--> DS Steele (1) passed 16000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 32
--> M Hendrick reached 400 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Somerset first innings
--> CH Dredge reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Derbyshire first innings
--> DS Steele reached 350 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Somerset second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive