Worcestershire v Essex
Benson and Hedges Cup 1980 (Semi-Final)
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 25th, 26th, 27th June 1980 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultEssex won by 8 wickets
UmpiresDGL Evans, KE Palmer
Close of play day 1Worcestershire 42/1 (Ormrod 11*, Neale 22*; 11 overs)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire 55/1 (Ormrod 13*, Neale 29*; 15 overs)
Man of the MatchMH Denness

Worcestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
GM Turnerc McEwan b Lever4      
JA Ormrodrun out70      
PA Nealelbw b Pont29      
EJO Hemsleyb Gooch24      
Younis Ahmedc McEwan b East43      
+DJ Humphriesb Acfield3      
JD Inchmorenot out14      
HL Alleynerun out10      
*N Giffordc Gooch b Phillip13      
AP Pridgeonb Lever3      
J Cumbesnot out3      
Extras(15 lb, 1 nb, 4 w)20
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)236
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-64, 3-110, 4-178, 5-187, 6-190, 7-201, 8-223, 9-232
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Lever9   0462--   27.005.11
Phillip10   0431--   60.004.30
Gooch11   1301--   66.002.73
Pont7   2181--   42.002.57
East10   0431--   60.004.30
Acfield8   0361--   48.004.50

Essex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
MH Dennessrun out66      
GA Goochlbw b Alleyne81      
KS McEwannot out65      
*KWR Fletchernot out16      
BR Hardiedid not bat      
KR Pontdid not bat      
N Phillipdid not bat      
RE Eastdid not bat      
+N Smithdid not bat      
JK Leverdid not bat      
DL Acfielddid not bat      
Extras(6 lb, 5 nb, 1 w)12
Total(2 wickets, 51 overs)240
Fall of wickets:
1-136, 2-186
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Alleyne11   3481--   66.004.36
Inchmore9   1450--   -5.00
Pridgeon9   1320--   -3.56
Cumbes11   0570--   -5.18
Gifford11   1460--   -4.18

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to three.
--> GA Gooch passed 4000 runs in ListA matches when he reached 67





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive