Glamorgan v Sussex
Benson and Hedges Cup 1980 (Group C)
VenueSophia Gardens, Cardiff on 22nd, 23rd May 1980 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSussex won the toss and decided to field
ResultSussex won by 8 wickets
PointsGlamorgan 0; Sussex 2
UmpiresRS Herman, PB Wight
Close of play day 1Sussex 148/2 (Mendis 57*, Imran Khan 12*; 42 overs)
Man of the MatchGD Mendis

Glamorgan inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
A Jonesc Graves b Wells20      
JA Hopkinsb Imran Khan2      
DA Francisc Spencer b Phillipson48      
Javed Miandadc Long b Waller33      
NG Featherstonelbw b Phillipson16      
GC Holmesc Wessels b Arnold20      
*MA Nashc Wessels b Phillipson13      
+EW Jonesc Waller b Arnold1      
EA Cordlec Parker b Arnold8      
EA Moseleynot out3      
AA Jonesnot out9      
Extras(6 lb, 6 w)12
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)185
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-33, 3-102, 4-129, 5-134, 6-156, 7-162, 8-173, 9-173
Sussex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Imran Khan11   2281--   66.002.55
Arnold11   3233--   22.002.09
Wells7   0261--   42.003.71
Spencer11   2330--   -3.00
Phillipson8   0383--   16.004.75
Waller7   0251--   42.003.57

Sussex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
KC Wesselslbw b Nash15      
GD Mendisnot out61      
PWG Parkerb Cordle44      
Imran Khannot out48      
PJ Gravesdid not bat      
CP Phillipsondid not bat      
CM Wellsdid not bat      
*+A Longdid not bat      
GG Arnolddid not bat      
J Spencerdid not bat      
CE Wallerdid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 9 lb, 1 nb, 6 w)21
Total(2 wickets, 47.4 overs)189
Fall of wickets:
1-31, 2-131
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Nash11   4291--   66.002.64
Moseley8   1230--   -2.88
AA Jones8   0190--   -2.38
Cordle11   1301--   66.002.73
Holmes4   0260--   -6.50
Featherstone5.40410--   -7.24

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to two.
--> PJ Graves made his last appearance in ListA matches
--> GG Arnold reached 300 wickets in ListA matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Glamorgan innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive