Lancashire v Worcestershire
Schweppes County Championship 1980
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 7th, 8th, 9th May 1980 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLancashire won by 4 wickets
PointsLancashire 16 (Bowling 4); Worcestershire 5 (Batting 1, Bowling 4)
UmpiresR Aspinall, DGL Evans
Close of play day 1Lancashire (1) 50/3 (Trim 21*, Ratcliffe 0*)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (2) 186/5 (Younis Ahmed 10*, Humphries 5*)

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Ormrodc Cockbain b Malone5      
GM Turnerc Cockbain b Malone0      
BJR Jonesc Simmons b Malone19      
EJO Hemsleyc Scott b Reidy29      
Younis Ahmedc Scott b Ratcliffe27      
DN Patellbw b Reidy1      
+DJ Humphriesb Reidy47      
JD Inchmorec Hayes b Malone9      
HL Alleynelbw b Malone0      
*N Giffordnot out18      
AP Pridgeonb Ratcliffe4      
Extras(4 lb)4
Total(all out, 74.1 overs)163
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-7, 3-36, 4-79, 5-81, 6-87, 7-102, 8-102, 9-147, 10-163 (74.1 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Malone26   10645--
Reidy21   9433--
Simmons8   440--

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Kennedyb Alleyne14      
GE Trimc Hemsley b Pridgeon31      
H Pillingb Alleyne0      
*FC Hayesc Humphries b Pridgeon10      
RM Ratcliffeb Alleyne7      
D Lloydc Younis Ahmed b Inchmore11      
I Cockbainlbw b Pridgeon11      
BW Reidylbw b Pridgeon4      
J Simmonsc Ormrod b Pridgeon10      
+CJ Scottnot out6      
MF Malonec Humphries b Inchmore9      
Extras(4 b, 8 lb, 10 nb, 1 w)23
Total(all out, 66.4 overs)136
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-21, 3-44, 4-65, 5-87, 6-90, 7-95, 8-110, 9-121, 10-136 (66.4 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Alleyne17   6383--
Pridgeon29   11505--
Gifford3   220--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Ormrodc Kennedy b Lloyd61      
GM Turnerc Cockbain b Malone7      
BJR Jonesc Cockbain b Malone17      
EJO Hemsleyrun out76      
Younis Ahmedc Scott b Malone24      
DN Patelc Scott b Lloyd4      
+DJ Humphrieslbw b Lloyd6      
JD Inchmorec Trim b Lloyd0      
*N Giffordlbw b Malone10      
HL Alleynelbw b Simmons22      
AP Pridgeonnot out0      
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 5 nb)7
Total(all out, 89.2 overs)234
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-58, 3-167, 4-167, 5-173, 6-187, 7-187, 8-205, 9-226, 10-234 (89.2 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Malone27   6694--
Reidy10   2290--
Ratcliffe13   5300--
Kennedy6   0210--
Lloyd17   7394--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Kennedyc Ormrod b Gifford39      
GE Trimc Humphries b Gifford23      
H Pillingc Hemsley b Alleyne1      
*FC Hayesc Turner b Pridgeon5      
D Lloydst Humphries b Gifford12      
I Cockbainb Pridgeon4      
BW Reidynot out110      
J Simmonsnot out53      
RM Ratcliffedid not bat      
+CJ Scottdid not bat      
MF Malonedid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 10 lb, 5 nb, 1 w)18
Total(6 wickets, 84 overs)265
Fall of wickets:
1-62, 2-63, 3-67, 4-85, 5-85, 6-90
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Alleyne24   6811--
Inchmore13   1530--
Pridgeon13   6232--
Gifford29   8683--
Patel5   0220--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> H Pilling made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> H Pilling made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> BW Reidy (2) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 85
--> HL Alleyne achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Lancashire first innings (previous best was 2-58)
--> AP Pridgeon achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Lancashire first innings (previous best was 5-63)
--> HL Alleyne achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Lancashire first innings (previous best was 2-58)
--> N Gifford reached 1350 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Lancashire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive