Victoria v South Australia
Sheffield Shield 1894/95
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 15th, 16th, 18th, 19th February 1895 (timeless match)
Balls per over6
TossVictoria won the toss and decided to bat
ResultVictoria won by 10 wickets
PointsVictoria 1; South Australia 0
UmpiresIA Fisher, T Flynn
Close of play day 1Victoria (1) 336/9 (Trumble 5*, RW McLeod 5*)
Close of play day 2South Australia (2) 159/2 (Lyons 100*, Darling 43*)
Close of play day 3No play

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Worrallb Jones5     
W Brucec A Jarvis b Jones8     
*GHS Trottc Reedman b G Giffen152     
FJ Laverc and b G Giffen78     
AE Trottb Jones41     
+PM Lewislbw b G Giffen10     
CE McLeodc Lyons b G Giffen23     
J Harryb G Giffen0     
EA Barrettb Jones5     
H Trumblenot out13     
RW McLeodb Jones9     
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)4
Total(all out, 295 minutes, 105.1 overs)348
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Worrall), 2-31 (Bruce), 3-226 (Laver), 4-263 (GHS Trott), 5-279 (Lewis), 6-307 (AE Trott), 7-320 (Harry), 8-321 (CE McLeod), 9-328 (Barrett), 10-348 (RW McLeod, 105.1 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
A Jarvis25   6700--
G Giffen47   61475--
Reedman3   0220--
Lyons6   0280-1
Green1   060--

South Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JJ Lyonsc Trumble b GHS Trott5     
JC Reedmanb CE McLeod3     
*G Giffenb AE Trott15     
J Darlingc Lewis b AE Trott6     
+AH Jarvisb AE Trott0     
RH Dyerc GHS Trott b CE McLeod2     
C Hillc Harry b GHS Trott33     
WF Giffenb CE McLeod1     
A Jarvisc Worrall b GHS Trott22     
A Greennot out11     
E Jonesb AE Trott15     
Extras(5 lb)5
Total(all out, 160 minutes, 57.1 overs)118
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Lyons), 2-12 (Reedman), 3-31 (Darling), 4-31 (AH Jarvis), 5-32 (G Giffen), 6-34 (Dyer), 7-38 (WF Giffen), 8-84 (Hill), 9-90 (A Jarvis), 10-118 (Jones, 57.1 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
CE McLeod24   13313--
GHS Trott15   2413--
AE Trott13.14244--
RW McLeod5   1170--

South Australia second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
JJ Lyonsc Trumble b GHS Trott135     
+AH Jarvisc AE Trott b GHS Trott5     
*G Giffenrun out (RW McLeod->Lewis)9     
J Darlingc Barrett b AE Trott45     
JC Reedmanst Lewis b GHS Trott8     
RH Dyerc Barrett b Trumble7     
C Hillc Barrett b GHS Trott1     
WF Giffenc and b Trumble3     
A Jarvisnot out14     
A Greenc and b Trumble0     
E Joneshandled the ball9     
Extras(6 b, 3 lb)9
Total(all out, 165 minutes, 54 overs)245
Fall of wickets:
1-43 (AH Jarvis), 2-72 (G Giffen), 3-170 (Darling), 4-190 (Reedman), 5-217 (Dyer), 6-218 (Lyons), 7-221 (WF Giffen), 8-221 (Hill), 9-230 (Green), 10-245 (Jones, 54 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
GHS Trott17   0704--
CE McLeod6   0300--
AE Trott10   1401--
Bruce5   0240--
Trumble12   4503--
Laver2   0120--
RW McLeod2   0100--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GHS Trottnot out3     
W Brucenot out12     
J Worralldid not bat      
FJ Laverdid not bat      
AE Trottdid not bat      
+PM Lewisdid not bat      
CE McLeoddid not bat      
J Harrydid not bat      
EA Barrettdid not bat      
H Trumbledid not bat      
RW McLeoddid not bat      
Extras(1 b)1
Total(no wicket, 10 minutes, 4.5 overs)16
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
G Giffen2   050--

--> EA Barrett made his debut in Sheffield Shield matches
--> A Green made his debut in first-class matches
--> A Green made his debut in Sheffield Shield matches
--> EA Barrett made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> EA Barrett made his last appearance in Sheffield Shield matches
--> GHS Trott (1) passed his previous highest score of 70 in Sheffield Shield matches
--> GHS Trott (1) made his first century in Sheffield Shield matches
--> AE Trott (1) passed his previous highest score of 38 in Sheffield Shield matches
--> C Hill (1) passed his previous highest score of 21 in Sheffield Shield matches
--> C Hill (1) passed his previous highest score of 21 in first-class matches
--> JJ Lyons (2) passed his previous highest score of 124 in Sheffield Shield matches

12th Men: None named
Crowds: 3000, 6000, no play, 1000. Total: About 10,000. Receipts: 296 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive