Southport and Birkdale v New Brighton
Liverpool and District Cricket Competition 1937
VenueTrafalgar Road, Southport on 4th September 1937 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over6
TossToss not known
ResultNew Brighton won by 1 wicket
PointsSouthport and Birkdale 0; New Brighton 2

Southport and Birkdale inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RG Stevensc Boucher b AB Wootton9 42-- 
J Threlfallc Reece b Barber33 783- 
PWG Suttonb Barber2 12-- 
JP Wrightb Boucher17 631- 
CR Mortonlbw b Barber0 4-- 
JA Rogersb Canevali1 12-- 
GC Taylorb Boucher1 4-- 
HF Ainleyb Barber10 291- 
WK Holtb Boucher5 51- 
FE Templarst Reece b Boucher1 6-- 
HW Leighnot out0 1-- 
Extras(4 b, 1 lb, 4 nb)9
Total(all out, 45.1 overs)88
Fall of wickets:
1-25 (Stevens), 2-32 (Sutton), 3-49 (Threlfall), 4-49 (Morton), 5-55 (Rogers), 6-60 (Taylor), 7-80 (Wright), 8-86 (Holt), 9-88 (Ainley), 10-88 (Templar, 45.1 ov)
New Brighton bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barber16   6264- 
Canevali13   4231- 
AB Wootton10   1191- 

New Brighton inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JD Canevalic Threlfall b Leigh30 742- 
+CS Reeceb Threlfall25 341- 
HG Woottonb Holt7 21-- 
RL Daviesc Templar b Stevens8 371- 
AE Edwardsc Rogers b Leigh0 12-- 
WS Chaltonb Leigh0 14-- 
JA Boucherlbw b Leigh0 4-- 
RD Gillmoreb Leigh0 4-- 
AB Woottonb Stevens0     
RP Fisknot out0 7-- 
WH Barbernot out1 1-- 
Extras(2 b, 3 lb, 12 nb, 1 w)18
Total(9 wickets, 31 overs)89
Fall of wickets:
1-48 (Reece), 2-68 (HG Wootton), 3-83 (Canevali), 4-88 (Edwards), 5-88 (Davies), 6-88 (Boucher), 7-88 (Chalton), 8-88 (AB Wootton), 9-88 (Gillmore)
Southport and Birkdale bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Leigh6   395  
Holt7   381  
Rogers5   0260  
Threlfall5   0111  
Stevens8   2172  

--> Bowling in the Southport and Birkdale innings adds 2 runs under

With their side on 88 for 3 in reply to the Southport total of 88 all out, most of the remaining New Brighton players had changed, believing that they would not have to bat. However six wickets then fell without a run being scored, and several of the visiting team were forced to rush back to the pavilion and change again. Eventually W H Barber, who had not troubled to re-change, had to go out to bat in his ordinary clothes and a sweater. To New Brighton's undoubted relief, he proceeded to snick the winning single from the second delivery that he faced.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive