Somerset v Derbyshire
John Player League 1979
VenueCounty Ground, Taunton on 2nd September 1979 (40-over match)
Balls per over6
TossDerbyshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultSomerset won by 55 runs
PointsSomerset 4; Derbyshire 0
UmpiresJVC Griffiths, BJ Meyer

Somerset inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
*BC Roseb Miller29      
PW Denningc McLellan b Walters62      
IVA Richardsb Miller2      
PM Roebuckc Miller b Russell44      
VJ Marksc Kirsten b Steele13      
GI Burgessb Steele23      
D Breakwellc McLellan b Russell0      
J Garnernot out2      
NFM Popplewellnot out2      
+DJS Taylordid not bat      
KF Jenningsdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 10 lb, 5 nb)17
Total(7 wickets, innings closed, 38 overs)194
Fall of wickets:
1-52, 2-54, 3-137, 4-162, 5-173, 6-187, 7-190
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Tunnicliffe8   1280--   -3.50
Walters8   1361--   48.004.50
Miller8   0302--   24.003.75
Russell7   0412--   21.005.86
Steele7   0422--   21.006.00

Derbyshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
A Hillc Popplewell b Marks26      
JG Wrightlbw b Marks20      
PN Kirstenc Popplewell b Burgess14      
CJ Tunnicliffec Richards b Marks8      
DS Steeleb Burgess1      
*G Millerc Marks b Breakwell7      
KJ Barnettb Garner25      
J Waltersb Garner21      
+AJ McLellannot out1      
AJ Mellorb Garner0      
PE Russellnot out3      
Extras(13 lb)13
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 38 overs)139
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-59, 3-71, 4-76, 5-76, 6-88, 7-134, 8-135, 9-135
Somerset bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Garner8   1213--   16.002.62
Popplewell8   0250--   -3.12
Marks8   0193--   16.002.38
Jennings6   0330--   -5.50
Burgess5   0192--   15.003.80
Breakwell3   191--   18.003.00

--> The match was reduced to 38 overs per side
--> AJ McLellan made his last appearance in ListA matches
--> AJ Mellor made his last appearance in ListA matches
--> VJ Marks achieved his best innings bowling analysis in ListA matches in the Derbyshire innings (previous best was 3-27)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive