Lancashire v Worcestershire
Schweppes County Championship 1979
VenueTrafalgar Road, Southport on 30th June, 1st, 2nd July 1979 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWorcestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLancashire won by 8 wickets
PointsLancashire 20 (Batting 4, Bowling 4); Worcestershire 7 (Batting 4, Bowling 3)
UmpiresR Aspinall, JG Langridge
Close of play day 1Lancashire (1) 105/1 (D Lloyd 58*, Abrahams 41*; 33 overs)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (2) 148 all out

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnerc and b Ratcliffe109     
JA Ormrodc Hughes b Lee15     
PA Nealec Trim b Simmons18     
EJO Hemsleyc Abrahams b Hughes63     
Younis Ahmedc Ratcliffe b Simmons50     
BJR Jonesb Hughes17     
+DJ Humphriesb Hughes16     
JD Inchmorec Trim b Hughes16     
GG Watsonc sub b Simmons10     
*N Giffordnot out6     
J Cumbesnot out6     
Extras(1 b, 7 lb, 8 nb)16
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)342
Fall of wickets:
1-70, 2-137, 3-170, 4-263, 5-272, 6-301, 7-313, 8-330, 9-331
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lee12   4331--
Allott14   2540--
Ratcliffe17   2711--
Hughes27   4774--
Simmons30   5913--

Lancashire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GE Trimlbw b Watson0     
D Lloydc Humphries b Watson116     
J Abrahamsc Turner b Gifford73     
CH Lloydc Neale b Cumbes43     
BW Reidyb Watson21     
*J Simmonsnot out26     
DP Hughesc Inchmore b Gifford3     
RM Ratcliffeb Watson7     
+J Lyonnot out2     
PJW Allottdid not bat      
PG Leedid not bat      
Extras(10 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)12
Total(7 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)303
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-156, 3-231, 4-256, 5-269, 6-278, 7-278
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Watson17   3494--
Inchmore7   3190--
Younis Ahmed3   0130--
Cumbes33   41001--
Gifford40   91102--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Turnerc Simmons b Allott6     
JA Ormrodc D Lloyd b Simmons29     
PA Nealec Allott b Simmons23     
EJO Hemsleyc Lyon b Hughes19     
Younis Ahmedlbw b Allott19     
BJR Jonesc Lyon b Allott0     
+DJ Humphriesc CH Lloyd b Simmons22     
JD Inchmorec Hughes b Ratcliffe9     
GG Watsonc Ratcliffe b Allott4     
*N Giffordc Abrahams b Allott1     
J Cumbesnot out0     
Extras(8 b, 4 lb, 4 nb)16
Total(all out, 69.2 overs)148
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-49, 3-67, 4-94, 5-94, 6-118, 7-127, 8-142, 9-148, 10-148 (69.2 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ratcliffe12   5321--
Hughes18   8331--
Simmons17   5233--
D Lloyd1   050--

Lancashire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GE Trimc Humphries b Inchmore17     
D Lloydnot out104     
J Abrahamsc and b Gifford2     
CH Lloydnot out57     
BW Reidydid not bat      
*J Simmonsdid not bat      
DP Hughesdid not bat      
RM Ratcliffedid not bat      
+J Lyondid not bat      
PJW Allottdid not bat      
PG Leedid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 3 lb, 4 nb)11
Total(2 wickets, 49.5 overs)191
Fall of wickets:
1-56, 2-72
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Watson10   0300--
Inchmore8   1261--
Younis Ahmed1.50140--
Cumbes9   0390--
Gifford15   1461--
Ormrod1   0140--
Hemsley5   2110--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> GM Turner (1) passed 27500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 41
--> EJO Hemsley (1) passed 7500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 49
--> GG Watson (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 3
--> DJ Humphries (2) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1
--> D Lloyd (2) passed 12000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 103
--> J Simmons reached 450 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Worcestershire first innings
--> PJW Allott achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Worcestershire second innings (previous best was 5-98)
--> PJW Allott achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Worcestershire second innings (previous best was 5-98)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive