Worcestershire v Northamptonshire
John Player League 1979
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 3rd June 1979 (40-over match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultWorcestershire won by 39 runs
PointsWorcestershire 4; Northamptonshire 0
UmpiresDJ Constant, J van Geloven

Worcestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
GM Turnerc and b Willey63     
JA Ormrodc Sharp b Watts30     
Younis Ahmedc Sharp b Willey24     
EJO Hemsleynot out53     
PA Nealec Yardley b TM Lamb8     
DN Patelnot out14     
+DJ Humphriesdid not bat      
CN Boynsdid not bat      
JD Inchmoredid not bat      
VA Holderdid not bat      
*N Gifforddid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 4 nb, 5 w)17
Total(4 wickets, innings closed, 40 overs)209
Fall of wickets:
1-84, 2-129, 3-132, 4-163
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Sarfraz Nawaz8   0330---4.12
Griffiths8   0410---5.12
TM Lamb8   0471--48.005.88
Watts8   0391--48.004.88
Willey8   0322--24.004.00

Northamptonshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
P Willeyc and b Inchmore5     
W Larkinsc Humphries b Holder2     
TJ Yardleyc Patel b Inchmore0     
AJ Lambc Turner b Gifford47     
G Cookc Patel b Gifford15     
RG Williamsc Inchmore b Gifford8     
*PJ Wattsc Boyns b Gifford18     
+G Sharpc Hemsley b Gifford15     
Sarfraz Nawaznot out34     
TM Lambc Patel b Inchmore12     
BJ Griffithsnot out4     
Extras(3 lb, 5 nb, 2 w)10
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 40 overs)170
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-9, 3-9, 4-68, 5-82, 6-96, 7-112, 8-124, 9-159
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Holder5   1151--30.003.00
Inchmore8   1333--16.004.12
Boyns8   0380---4.75
Younis Ahmed8   0280---3.50
Gifford8   0285--9.603.50
Patel3   0180---6.00

--> G Sharp passed 1500 runs in ListA matches when he reached 13
--> Sarfraz Nawaz passed 1000 runs in ListA matches when he reached 14





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive