Essex v Glamorgan
Schweppes County Championship 1979
VenueValentine's Park, Ilford on 30th, 31st May, 1st June 1979 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultEssex won by 9 wickets (single innings match)
PointsEssex 12; Glamorgan 0
UmpiresC Cook, A Jepson
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2No play

Glamorgan inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Jonesb Lever36     
JA Hopkinsc Turner b Lever9     
RC Ontongc and b Hardie86     
AL Jonesc Phillip b Fletcher17     
PD Swartretired hurt16     
MJ Llewellync Lever b Hardie5     
G Richardsc Phillip b Fletcher5     
+EW Jonesnot out0     
EA Cordlec and b Fletcher4     
BJ Lloydnot out0     
*RNS Hobbsdid not bat      
Extras(5 nb, 1 w)6
Total(7 wickets, declared, 75 overs)184
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-66, 3-127, 4-169, 5-180, 6-180, 7-184
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lever16   4292--
Phillip7   2160--
Turner7   530--
Acfield17   8150--
East16   6320--
Fletcher7   0443--
Hardie5   0392--

Essex inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MH Dennessc Ontong b Cordle14     
GA Goochnot out93     
KS McEwannot out67     
*KWR Fletcherdid not bat      
BR Hardiedid not bat      
S Turnerdid not bat      
N Phillipdid not bat      
RE Eastdid not bat      
+N Smithdid not bat      
JK Leverdid not bat      
DL Acfielddid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 6 lb)11
Total(1 wicket, 27.3 overs)185
Fall of wickets:
1-44 (Denness)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Cordle11   0621--
Lloyd2   0140--
Richards6   0360--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> KWR Fletcher achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Glamorgan innings (previous best was 2-64)
--> PD Swart retired hurt in the Glamorgan innings having scored 16 (team had lost 3 wickets)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive