Northamptonshire v Surrey
Benson and Hedges Cup 1979 (Group C)
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 23rd, 24th, 25th May 1979 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSurrey won by 5 runs
PointsNorthamptonshire 0; Surrey 3
UmpiresJVC Griffiths, A Jepson
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire 0/0 (Cook 0*, Larkins 0*; 1 over)
Man of the MatchRDV Knight

Surrey inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
AR Butcherc Williams b TM Lamb1      
MA Lynchc Yardley b Sarfraz Nawaz6      
GP Howarthc Yardley b Carter32      
*RDV Knightnot out92      
GRJ Roopelbw b Watts15      
DM Smithnot out45      
RD Jackmandid not bat      
+CJ Richardsdid not bat      
ST Clarkedid not bat      
PI Pocockdid not bat      
PHL Wilsondid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 8 lb, 4 w)14
Total(4 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)205
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-23, 3-48, 4-100
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Sarfraz Nawaz11   2411--   66.003.73
TM Lamb11   2381--   66.003.45
Willey11   0330--   -3.00
Carter11   2421--   66.003.82
Watts11   0371--   66.003.36

Northamptonshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
G Cookb Pocock20      
W Larkinsc Knight b Pocock47      
P Willeylbw b Pocock4      
AJ Lambrun out7      
TJ Yardleyb Clarke1      
RG Williamsc Lynch b Pocock1      
*PJ Wattsb Jackman33      
+G Sharpc Butcher b Jackman43      
Sarfraz Nawazc Knight b Jackman14      
TM Lambnot out7      
RM Carternot out5      
Extras(6 b, 10 lb, 2 w)18
Total(9 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)200
Fall of wickets:
1-51, 2-56, 3-73, 4-80, 5-83, 6-86, 7-153, 8-187, 9-187
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Jackman11   0463--   22.004.18
Clarke11   3211--   66.001.91
Pocock11   3534--   16.504.82
Wilson11   0320--   -2.91
Knight11   1300--   -2.73

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to three.
--> DM Smith passed his previous highest score of 40 in ListA matches
--> AJ Lamb passed 500 runs in ListA matches when he reached 1





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive