Middlesex v Essex
Schweppes County Championship 1979
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 9th, 10th, 11th May 1979 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossMiddlesex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsMiddlesex 6 (Batting 3, Bowling 3); Essex 4 (Batting 2, Bowling 2)
UmpiresCT Spencer, PB Wight
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 45/2 (McEwan 11*, East 5*; 14 overs)
Close of play day 2Essex (1) 224/7 (Hardie 40*, Smith 0*; 79 overs)

Middlesex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Smithst Smith b East33     
*JM Brearleyc Gooch b Lever73     
CT Radleylbw b East5     
GD Barlowlbw b Lever45     
MW Gattingc Hardie b Phillip17     
+IJ Gouldrun out0     
PH Edmondsnot out40     
JE Embureynot out33     
MWW Selveydid not bat      
WW Danieldid not bat      
AA Jonesdid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 8 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)19
Total(6 wickets, declared, 99.1 overs)265
Fall of wickets:
1-76, 2-84, 3-141, 4-176, 5-176, 6-220
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lever22   4512--
Phillip17   5421--
Turner17   6250--
East29   7992--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MH Dennesslbw b Selvey19     
GA Goochlbw b Daniel8     
KS McEwanb Selvey66     
RE Eastc Edmonds b Jones30     
*KWR Fletcherc Brearley b Emburey32     
BR Hardienot out40     
S Turnerc Gatting b Daniel2     
N Phillipb Emburey13     
+N Smithnot out0     
JK Leverdid not bat      
DL Acfielddid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 4 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)14
Total(7 wickets, 80 overs)224
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-38, 3-88, 4-159, 5-186, 6-195, 7-212
Middlesex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Selvey23   8612--
Daniel18   0612--
Emburey18   4322--
Jones14   1371--
Edmonds7   0190--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> KS McEwan (1) passed 10000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 13
--> WW Daniel reached 150 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Essex first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive