Lancashire v Warwickshire
Benson and Hedges Cup 1979 (Group B)
VenueTrafalgar Road, Southport on 5th, 7th, 8th May 1979 (55-over match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to field
ResultWarwickshire won on faster scoring rate (Run rate)
PointsLancashire 0; Warwickshire 3
UmpiresDO Oslear, AEG Rhodes
Close of play day 1Lancashire 90/2 (Wood 65*, Hayes 14*; 28 overs)
Close of play day 2No play
Man of the MatchB Wood

Warwickshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
DL Amissc Wood b Allott0     
KD Smithc Kennedy b Ratcliffe58     
*J Whitehouseb Wood50     
AI Kallicharranb Simmons3     
PR Oliverlbw b Simmons12     
+GW Humpagenot out55     
RN Abberleylbw b Hogg1     
AM Ferreiranot out13     
RGD Willisdid not bat      
DJ Browndid not bat      
SP Perrymandid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 18 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)26
Total(6 wickets, innings closed, 55 overs)218
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-84, 3-93, 4-119, 5-167, 6-171
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Hogg10   5131--60.001.30
Allott7   2211--42.003.00
Ratcliffe11   0591--66.005.36
Reidy6   0290---4.83
Wood11   0451--66.004.09
Simmons10   1252--30.002.50

Lancashire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
A Kennedyc Kallicharran b Willis0     
B Woodnot out65     
H Pillingc Kallicharran b Ferreira8     
*FC Hayesnot out14     
CH Lloyddid not bat      
BW Reidydid not bat      
J Simmonsdid not bat      
+J Lyondid not bat      
RM Ratcliffedid not bat      
PJW Allottdid not bat      
W Hoggdid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 1 lb)3
Total(2 wickets, 28 overs)90
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-41
Warwickshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Willis4   1101--24.002.50
Brown5   0120---2.40
Perryman8   2220---2.75
Ferreira5   0201--30.004.00
Oliver6   0230---3.83

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to three.
--> There was no play on the final day.
--> When play was halted Lancashire needed to have scored 111 runs to win
--> J Whitehouse passed 2500 runs in ListA matches when he reached 40





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive