Australia Women v New Zealand Women
New Zealand Women in Australia 1978/79 (1st Test)
VenueUniversity Oval, Sydney on 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th January 1979 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossNew Zealand Women won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresJ Chapman, AG Marshall
ScorersCE Henshilwood, DA Hockley, EJ Sainsbury
Close of play day 1New Zealand Women (1) 225/7 (Marett 49*, Badham 7*)
Close of play day 2Australia Women (1) 32/1 (Martin 12*, Stockton 10*)
Close of play day 3New Zealand Women (2) 26/0 (Bevege 7*, McKelvey 19*)

New Zealand Women first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BL Bevegec Stockton b Tredrea0 30-- 
*PF McKelveyc Tredrea b Weir31 1722- 
VL McGregorb Fitzsimmons16 512- 
LJ Shanklandlbw b Cook46 1465- 
EL Millerc Stockton b Weir23 525- 
SJ Rattraylbw b Cook15 423- 
CE Marettb Tredrea49 1347- 
J Lordc Laing b Weir21 414- 
EA Badhamnot out13 108-- 
SH Brownc Cook b Lutschini7 311- 
+EM Ryanrun out10 27-- 
Extras(7 b, 13 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)23
Total(all out, 421 minutes, 111.4 overs)254
Fall of wickets:
1-11 (Bevege), 2-42 (McGregor), 3-82 (McKelvey), 4-127 (Miller), 5-127 (Shankland), 6-162 (Rattray), 7-194 (Lord), 8-225 (Marett), 9-238 (Brown), 10-254 (Ryan, 111.4 ov)
Australia Women bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tredrea20   9402--
Thompson27   15410-1
Fitzsimmons9   4161-1
Laing8   31201-
Weir12   1463--
Martin2   110--
Cook15   8212--

Australia Women first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
P Cookc Badham b Brown10 571- 
DL Martinc Ryan b Badham36 187-- 
+J Stocktonc Badham b Marett117 34911- 
J Kennarec Bevege b Lord20 63-- 
*SA Tredreac McGregor b Brown11 102- 
J Lainglbw b Badham2 12-- 
WJ Hillsnot out69 1047- 
S Fitzsimmonsc Badham b Lord4 13-- 
MJ Lutschinic McGregor b Lord6 8-- 
RH Thompsonnot out3 9-- 
W Weirdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 1 w)4
Total(8 wickets, declared, 382 minutes, 94.5 overs)282
Fall of wickets:
1-19 (Cook), 2-98 (Martin), 3-143 (Kennare), 4-156 (Tredrea), 5-160 (Laing), 6-241 (Stockton), 7-256 (Fitzsimmons), 8-271 (Lutschini)
New Zealand Women bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Badham26   46621-
Brown19   8532--
Marett20   5511--
Rattray1   050--

New Zealand Women second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BL Bevegec Lutschini b Tredrea81 2405- 
*PF McKelveyc Cook b Weir37 1203- 
VL McGregorb Cook17 603- 
EL Millerb Tredrea27 765- 
SJ Rattrayb Thompson1 2-- 
J Lordb Thompson0 8-- 
EA Badhamb Thompson30 1113- 
CE Marettc Stockton b Fitzsimmons4 30-- 
LJ Shanklandc Laing b Lutschini16 402- 
SH Brownc Laing b Lutschini19 531- 
+EM Ryannot out8 181- 
Extras(11 b, 2 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)16
Total(all out, 383 minutes, 107.5 overs)256
Fall of wickets:
1-80 (McKelvey), 2-131 (McGregor), 3-171 (Bevege), 4-172 (Rattray), 5-172 (Lord), 6-174 (Miller), 7-180 (Marett), 8-216 (Shankland), 9-241 (Badham), 10-256 (Brown, 107.5 ov)
Australia Women bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tredrea12   62021-
Thompson23   10373--
Fitzsimmons7   4511-
Laing6   0340--
Weir17   1611-1
Cook13   6281--
Hills4   140--
Stockton3   0130--

--> LJ Shankland made her debut in women's Test matches
--> EL Miller made her debut in women's Test matches
--> CE Marett (1) passed her previous highest score of 47 in women's Test matches
--> EA Badham made her debut in women's Test matches
--> SH Brown made her debut in women's Test matches
--> DL Martin made her debut in women's Test matches
--> J Stockton made her debut in women's Test matches
--> J Kennare made her debut in women's Test matches
--> J Laing made her debut in women's Test matches
--> WJ Hills (1) passed her previous highest score of 48 in women's Test matches
--> S Fitzsimmons made her debut in women's Test matches
--> W Weir achieved her best innings bowling analysis in women's Test matches when she dismissed PF McKelvey in the New Zealand Women first innings (previous best was 0-21)

For this series Shell (New Zealand) donated a Rose Bowl for competition between Australia Women and New Zealand Women. Australia retained the Rose Bowl in the 1981/82 World Cup by beating New Zealand 3-0 in the games that they played against each other. In 1984/85 Shell agreed to sponsor an annual limited overs competition between the sides with the Rose Bowl dedicated specifically to it.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive