South Zone v West Indians
West Indies in India and Sri Lanka 1978/79
VenueLal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Hyderabad on 9th, 10th, 11th December 1978 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossWest Indians won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresJD Ghosh, KB Ramaswami
Close of play day 1South Zone (1) 50/2 (Jung 17*, Patel 18*)
Close of play day 2West Indians (2) 84/0 (Williams 44*, Bacchus 37*)

West Indians first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AE Greenidgec and b Binny2     
AB Williamslbw b Venkataraghavan45     
HA Gomesc Sivaramakrishnan b Venkataraghavan55     
HS Changc Sivaramakrishnan b Venkataraghavan1     
SFAF Bacchusc Narasimha Rao b Prasanna4     
S Shivnarinelbw b Venkataraghavan2     
DR Parryrun out39     
MD Marshallc and b Narasimha Rao20     
+JR Lyonrun out41     
*VA Holderc Reddy b Ghiya61     
EE Brownnot out0     
Extras(8 lb)8
Total(all out, 80.3 overs)278
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-81, 3-83, 4-108, 5-108, 6-112, 7-159, 8-177, 9-278, 10-278 (80.3 ov)
South Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Binny8   0421--
Ghiya8   1371--
Prasanna25   5651--
Venkataraghavan26   7804--
Narasimha Rao13.31461--

South Zone first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SS Akbarc and b Marshall2     
V Sivaramakrishnanc Bacchus b Marshall4     
SB Jungrun out113  14- 
BP Patelc Gomes b Marshall18     
TE Srinivasanlbw b Marshall8     
MV Narasimha Raoc Williams b Shivnarine73 2108- 
RMH Binnyc Holder b Shivnarine14     
JK Ghiyac Shivnarine b Brown5     
+B Reddynot out9     
*S Venkataraghavannot out5     
EAS Prasannadid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 6 lb, 21 nb)32
Total(8 wickets, declared, 92 overs)283
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-6, 3-50, 4-64, 5-227, 6-253, 7-264, 8-278
West Indians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Marshall20   7454--
Holder18   4440--
Brown28   6711--
Parry15   0560--
Shivnarine11   1352--

West Indians second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AB Williamsc Ghiya b Prasanna76     
SFAF Bacchusb Venkataraghavan42     
HA Gomesc and b Prasanna7     
HS Changrun out39     
S Shivnarinenot out101  132 
DR Parrynot out13     
AE Greenidgedid not bat      
MD Marshalldid not bat      
+JR Lyondid not bat      
*VA Holderdid not bat      
EE Browndid not bat      
Extras(3 lb)3
Total(4 wickets, declared, 65.5 overs)281
Fall of wickets:
1-93, 2-128, 3-129, 4-219
South Zone bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Ghiya10   0620--
Prasanna19   3492--
Venkataraghavan15   3381--
Sivaramakrishnan9   0470--

South Zone second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SS Akbarb Marshall4     
V Sivaramakrishnanlbw b Marshall1     
TE Srinivasanb Shivnarine64     
SB Jungc Shivnarine b Marshall1     
RMH Binnyc Lyon b Marshall4     
+B Reddylbw b Brown6     
JK Ghiyanot out54     
MV Narasimha Raonot out22     
BP Pateldid not bat      
*S Venkataraghavandid not bat      
EAS Prasannadid not bat      
Extras(13 b)13
Total(6 wickets, 43 overs)169
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-5, 3-13, 4-45, 5-52, 6-119
West Indians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Marshall18   2714--
Holder6   1150--
Brown6   1251--
Parry5   0130--
Shivnarine6   0261--
Gomes1   020--
Chang1   040--

--> SB Jung (1) passed his previous highest score of 58 in first-class matches
--> SB Jung (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> S Shivnarine (2) equalled his previous highest score of 101 in first-class matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive