Leicestershire v Northamptonshire
John Player League 1978
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 27th August 1978 (40-over match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 6 wickets
PointsLeicestershire 4; Northamptonshire 0
UmpiresPB Wight, TG Wilson

Northamptonshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
P Willeyb Booth18      
W Larkinslbw b Taylor3      
TJ Yardleyc Higgs b Clift8      
AJ Lambc Higgs b Steele13      
G Cookc Steele b Higgs44      
*PJ Wattsc Briers b Illingworth6      
RG Williamsrun out2      
Sarfraz Nawazb Clift0      
+VA Flynnc Tolchard b Higgs5      
TM Lambc Birkenshaw b Taylor1      
BJ Griffithsnot out1      
Extras(1 b, 15 lb, 1 nb)17
Total(all out, 36.5 overs)118
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-40, 3-41, 4-75, 5-88, 6-90, 7-90, 8-113, 9-117, 10-118 (36.5 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Higgs6.50142--   20.502.05
Taylor6   0142--   18.002.33
Clift8   1152--   24.001.88
Booth8   0241--   48.003.00
Steele4   0151--   24.003.75
Illingworth4   0191--   24.004.75

Leicestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
NE Briersb TM Lamb29      
J Birkenshawlbw b Watts19      
JC Balderstonenot out29      
BF Davisonb Watts3      
+RW Tolchardc Yardley b Larkins2      
PB Cliftnot out24      
JF Steeledid not bat      
*R Illingworthdid not bat      
P Boothdid not bat      
K Higgsdid not bat      
LB Taylordid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 5 w)13
Total(4 wickets, 37.4 overs)119
Fall of wickets:
1-45, 2-57, 3-65, 4-75
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Sarfraz Nawaz8   3210--   -2.62
Griffiths8   1290--   -3.62
Watts8   292--   24.001.12
TM Lamb8   1181--   48.002.25
Larkins3.40181--   22.004.91
Willey2   0110--   -5.50

--> VA Flynn made his debut in ListA matches
--> JC Balderstone passed 3500 runs in ListA matches when he reached 20





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive