Leicestershire v Surrey
Schweppes County Championship 1978
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 9th, 10th, 11th August 1978 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn (single innings match)
PointsLeicestershire 0; Surrey 0
UmpiresDO Oslear, WE Phillipson
Close of play day 1No play
Close of play day 2No play

Leicestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JF Steelec Intikhab Alam b Pocock28     
NE Briersc Roope b Pocock30     
JC Balderstoneb Lynch57     
BF Davisonnot out80     
M Schepensnot out4     
+RW Tolcharddid not bat      
J Birkenshawdid not bat      
P Boothdid not bat      
GJ Parsonsdid not bat      
*K Higgsdid not bat      
LB Taylordid not bat      
Extras(14 b, 4 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)22
Total(3 wickets, declared, 58.1 overs)221
Fall of wickets:
1-66, 2-77, 3-206
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jackman7   1240--
Wilson7   370--
Intikhab Alam18   4490--
Pocock13   1372--
Butcher7   1410--

Surrey inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AR Butcherc Tolchard b Taylor9     
MA Lynchlbw b Higgs14     
GRJ Roopenot out61     
Younis Ahmedc Balderstone b Booth53     
Intikhab Alamc Tolchard b Taylor24     
DM Smithnot out2     
JH Edrichdid not bat      
*RD Jackmandid not bat      
+CJ Richardsdid not bat      
PI Pocockdid not bat      
PHL Wilsondid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 6 lb, 2 nb)9
Total(4 wickets, 35.5 overs)172
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-28, 3-109, 4-158
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Taylor8   0272--
Steele3   060--
Birkenshaw5   0350--
Parsons6   0350--
Booth5   0301--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> JF Steele (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 9
--> GJ Parsons made his debut in first-class matches
--> GJ Parsons made his debut in County Championship matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2016 CricketArchive