Gloucestershire v Nottinghamshire
Schweppes County Championship 1978
VenueCollege Ground, Cheltenham on 5th, 7th, 8th August 1978 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNottinghamshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsGloucestershire 3 (Bowling 3); Nottinghamshire 2 (Batting 2)
UmpiresC Cook, DGL Evans
Close of play day 1Gloucestershire (1) 7/0 (Stovold 1*, Sadiq Mohammad 6*; 6 overs)
Close of play day 2No play

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Harrisc Brassington b Brain3     
PA Toddlbw b Brain7     
DW Randallb Graveney54     
CEB Riceb Brain25     
JD Birchb Graveney21     
*MJ Smedleynot out44     
KE Cooperc Stovold b Childs11     
+CC Curzonc Brassington b Brain26     
RA Whitec Brassington b Childs12     
DR Doshinot out1     
ME Allbrookdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 4 lb, 8 nb, 1 w)17
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 100 overs)221
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-26, 3-72, 4-108, 5-126, 6-151, 7-201, 8-220
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brain23   4504--
Davey10   1410--
Childs40   13632--
Graveney27   12502--

Gloucestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Stovoldnot out1     
Sadiq Mohammadnot out6     
Zaheer Abbasdid not bat      
*DR Shepherddid not bat      
JC Foatdid not bat      
DA Graveneydid not bat      
MD Partridgedid not bat      
+AJ Brassingtondid not bat      
BM Braindid not bat      
J Daveydid not bat      
JH Childsdid not bat      
Total(no wicket, 6 overs)7
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rice3   240--
Doshi3   130--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> JH Childs reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Nottinghamshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive