Leicestershire v Hampshire
Gillette Cup 1978 (2nd Round)
VenueGrace Road, Leicester on 19th, 20th July 1978 (60-over match)
Balls per over6
TossLeicestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLeicestershire won by 74 runs
UmpiresDJ Halfyard, J van Geloven
ScorersLW Barratt (Leicestershire), VH Isaacs (Hampshire)
Close of play day 1Hampshire 46/3 (Turner 4*, Jesty 7*; 21 overs)
Man of the MatchJC Balderstone

Leicestershire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
NE Briersc Jesty b Roberts0     
B Dudlestonc Gilliat b Roberts21     
JC Balderstoneb Roberts73     
BF Davisonc Jesty b Rice16     
DI Gowerc Gilliat b Tremlett14     
+RW Tolchardrun out2     
PB Cliftb Jesty33     
JF Steelest Stephenson b Rice35     
*R Illingworthnot out10     
P Boothnot out1     
LB Taylordid not bat      
Extras(5 lb, 4 nb)9
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 60 overs)214
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-27, 3-58, 4-77, 5-85, 6-155, 7-189, 8-213
Hampshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Roberts12   3403--24.003.33
Stevenson5   0290---5.80
Tremlett12   4201--72.001.67
Rice10   0412--30.004.10
Cowley12   2440---3.67
Jesty9   0311--54.003.44

Hampshire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
CG Greenidgeb Taylor5     
BA Richardsrun out18     
JM Riceb Taylor11     
DR Turnerb Clift27     
TE Jestyb Clift31     
NGC Cowleyb Booth11     
*RMC Gilliatb Steele11     
AME Robertsc Gower b Steele15     
TM Tremlettb Booth3     
+GR Stephensonb Taylor2     
K Stevensonnot out1     
Extras(4 lb, 1 nb)5
Total(all out, 51.2 overs)140
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-32, 3-37, 4-85, 5-96, 6-115, 7-123, 8-137, 9-137, 10-140 (51.2 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Booth10   1302--30.003.00
Illingworth12   4290---2.42
Clift12   2292--36.002.42
Steele9   2262--27.002.89
Balderstone2   0100---5.00

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to two.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
| Home | Privacy Policy | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2017 CricketArchive