Derbyshire v Northamptonshire
Schweppes County Championship 1977
VenueCounty Ground, Derby on 31st August, 1st, 2nd September 1977 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDerbyshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
PointsDerbyshire 4 (Bowling 4); Northamptonshire 5 (Batting 1, Bowling 4)
UmpiresWE Alley, JF Crapp
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 4/1 (Wright 4*)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (2) 60/4 (Yardley 9*, Hodgson 2*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginc Taylor b Tunnicliffe19      
*G Cookb Stevenson45      
Mushtaq Mohammadc Swarbrook b Miller10      
W Larkinsc Taylor b Stevenson43      
TJ Yardleyb Barlow1      
P Willeyc Barlow b Hendrick12      
+G Sharpc Taylor b Hendrick1      
Sarfraz Nawazc Swarbrook b Stevenson12      
A Hodgsonc Barlow b Miller10      
BS Bedilbw b Stevenson0      
BJ Griffithsnot out0      
Extras(3 lb)3
Total(all out, 66.3 overs)156
Fall of wickets:
1-51, 2-73, 3-82, 4-84, 5-103, 6-117, 7-139, 8-152, 9-152, 10-156 (66.3 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hendrick14   6292--
Tunnicliffe9   3291--
Stevenson13   5284--
Barlow7   1121--
Swarbrook9   3200--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Wrightc Sharp b Bedi47      
A Hillb Hodgson0      
*EJ Barlowc Cook b Sarfraz Nawaz5      
AJ Borringtonlbw b Sarfraz Nawaz21      
G Millerc Sharp b Sarfraz Nawaz0      
H Cartwrightc Bedi b Griffiths4      
FW Swarbrooklbw b Sarfraz Nawaz16      
+RW Taylornot out31      
CJ Tunnicliffec Sharp b Griffiths21      
M Hendrickc Cook b Bedi2      
K Stevensonc Sharp b Bedi0      
Extras(1 lb, 1 nb)2
Total(all out, 58.4 overs)149
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-9, 3-54, 4-54, 5-70, 6-79, 7-97, 8-146, 9-149, 10-149 (58.4 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz17   6394--
Hodgson10   0481--
Willey3   120--
Griffiths13   2292--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginc Hendrick b Miller36      
*G Cookc Taylor b Stevenson11      
Mushtaq Mohammadlbw b Barlow1      
W Larkinsc Hendrick b Barlow1      
TJ Yardleyc Swarbrook b Miller37      
A Hodgsonc Stevenson b Hendrick4      
P Willeyc Hendrick b Swarbrook41      
+G Sharpc Wright b Miller17      
Sarfraz Nawazc Hendrick b Miller11      
BS Bedic Barlow b Swarbrook0      
BJ Griffithsnot out0      
Extras(5 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)8
Total(all out, 76.2 overs)167
Fall of wickets:
1-32, 2-33, 3-37, 4-58, 5-70, 6-98, 7-149, 8-157, 9-167, 10-167 (76.2 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hendrick19   7241--
Stevenson20   1651--
Miller16   4344--
Barlow16   6212--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JG Wrightc Sarfraz Nawaz b Willey14      
A Hillc Sharp b Hodgson1      
*EJ Barlowc Larkins b Bedi10      
AJ Borringtonb Willey0      
G Millerc and b Bedi66      
H Cartwrightb Willey6      
FW Swarbrooknot out34      
+RW Taylorc sub b Willey11      
CJ Tunnicliffenot out6      
M Hendrickdid not bat      
K Stevensondid not bat      
Extras(12 b, 7 lb, 1 nb)20
Total(7 wickets, 69 overs)168
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-23, 3-24, 4-35, 5-59, 6-129, 7-160
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz7   270--
Hodgson4   171--
Willey29   8554--
Bedi29   5792--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> JG Wright (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 23
--> JG Wright (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 42
--> JG Wright (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 42
--> G Miller (2) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 27
--> G Miller reached 200 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings
--> M Hendrick reached 300 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive