Glamorgan v Kent
Schweppes County Championship 1977
VenueSt Helen's, Swansea on 30th July, 1st, 2nd August 1977 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGlamorgan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultKent won by 6 wickets
PointsGlamorgan 4 (Batting 1, Bowling 3); Kent 20 (Batting 4, Bowling 4)
UmpiresDJ Halfyard, JG Langridge
Close of play day 1Kent (1) 103/3 (Asif Iqbal 32*, Ealham 30*)
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (2) 130/2 (Francis 27*, Ontong 8*)

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*A Jonesc Downton b Shepherd9      
JA Hopkinsc Downton b Hills23      
DA Francisc Downton b Hills4      
RC Ontongc Shepherd b Julien19      
MJ Llewellync Ealham b Shepherd1      
G Richardsrun out10      
+EW Jonesnot out51      
MA Nashc Asif Iqbal b Julien15      
EA Cordleb Shepherd18      
TW Cartwrightlbw b Hills7      
AH Wilkinsc Downton b Hills0      
Extras(1 b, 4 lb, 9 nb, 4 w)18
Total(all out, 70.2 overs)175
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-42, 3-43, 4-46, 5-63, 6-85, 7-123, 8-160, 9-167, 10-175 (70.2 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Julien18   4682--
Shepherd34   18453--
Asif Iqbal1   100--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GW Johnsonlbw b Nash2      
GS Clintonc Cartwright b Wilkins20      
CJ Tavarélbw b Cartwright15      
*Asif Iqbalc Cartwright b Wilkins79      
AGE Ealhamc EW Jones b Nash53      
CJC Rowec EW Jones b Nash1      
CS Cowdreynot out101      
BD Julienc Francis b Cordle44      
JN Shepherdc and b Cordle13      
RW Hillslbw b Cartwright43      
+PR Downtonnot out6      
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 3 nb)9
Total(9 wickets, declared, 114 overs)386
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-33, 3-52, 4-148, 5-158, 6-201, 7-276, 8-296, 9-369
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nash32   91003--
Cordle25   4902--
Cartwright26   8582--
Wilkins16   1662--
Ontong6   2330--
Richards9   2300--

Glamorgan second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*A Jonesc Tavaré b Julien48      
JA Hopkinsc Downton b Shepherd41      
DA Francisc Downton b Julien39      
RC Ontongc and b Shepherd25      
MJ Llewellynlbw b Hills17      
G Richardsb Hills3      
+EW Jonesc Tavaré b Hills0      
MA Nashc Cowdrey b Shepherd51      
EA Cordlec Cowdrey b Julien13      
TW Cartwrightnot out22      
AH Wilkinslbw b Johnson18      
Extras(1 b, 4 lb, 3 nb, 3 w)11
Total(all out, 98.4 overs)288
Fall of wickets:
1-65, 2-110, 3-149, 4-163, 5-170, 6-170, 7-203, 8-244, 9-251, 10-288 (98.4 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Julien25   4733--
Shepherd43   91103--
Hills14   4393--
Asif Iqbal1   040--
Rowe3   0140--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GW Johnsonc EW Jones b Nash21      
GS Clintonb Richards21      
CJ Tavaréb Richards30      
*Asif Iqbalrun out2      
AGE Ealhamnot out5      
CJC Rowenot out0      
CS Cowdreydid not bat      
BD Juliendid not bat      
JN Shepherddid not bat      
RW Hillsdid not bat      
+PR Downtondid not bat      
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(4 wickets, 23.2 overs)80
Fall of wickets:
1-22, 2-67, 3-71, 4-75
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nash9   1301--
Cordle4   0140--
Wilkins3   180--
Ontong2   090--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> G Richards (1) passed 2000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 6
--> Asif Iqbal (1) passed 9000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 64
--> CS Cowdrey (1) passed his previous highest score of 66 in first-class matches
--> CS Cowdrey (1) made his first century in first-class matches
--> CS Cowdrey (1) passed his previous highest score of 66 in County Championship matches
--> CS Cowdrey (1) made his first century in County Championship matches
--> BD Julien (1) passed 5500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 9
--> MJ Llewellyn (2) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 17
--> BD Julien reached 450 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Glamorgan second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive