Northamptonshire v Essex
Schweppes County Championship 1977
VenueCounty Ground, Northampton on 18th, 19th, 20th May 1977 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNorthamptonshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNorthamptonshire won by 59 runs
PointsNorthamptonshire 17 (Batting 1, Bowling 4); Essex 4 (Bowling 4)
UmpiresBJ Meyer, KE Palmer
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 63/5 (Gooch 23*, Boyce 8*)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (2) 236/8 (Sharp 53*, Bedi 10*)

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginlbw b Lever15     
G Cookc Smith b Turner0     
DS Steelec Hardie b Acfield25     
*Mushtaq Mohammadc Hardie b Boyce18     
P Willeyb Turner20     
W Larkinslbw b Turner16     
+G Sharpb Turner0     
Sarfraz Nawazc McEwan b East36     
A Hodgsonc Denness b Turner19     
BS Bedinot out12     
JCJ Dyeb Turner1     
Extras(7 lb, 9 nb)16
Total(all out, 92.5 overs)178
Fall of wickets:
1-4, 2-24, 3-57, 4-85, 5-92, 6-96, 7-117, 8-160, 9-171, 10-178 (92.5 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lever21   8371--
Acfield14   5221--
Boyce17   4411--
East12   4241--
Gooch6   2120--

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BR Hardielbw b Sarfraz Nawaz10     
MH Dennessb Sarfraz Nawaz1     
KS McEwanb Sarfraz Nawaz0     
*KWR Fletcherc Sharp b Dye3     
S Turnerb Hodgson14     
GA Goochc Sharp b Dye25     
KD Boycelbw b Hodgson15     
RE Eastc Mushtaq Mohammad b Hodgson10     
+N Smithc Sharp b Dye7     
JK Leverlbw b Hodgson1     
DL Acfieldnot out1     
Extras(4 nb)4
Total(all out, 31.1 overs)91
Fall of wickets:
1-10, 2-11, 3-14, 4-16, 5-53, 6-72, 7-82, 8-82, 9-85, 10-91 (31.1 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz10   1373--
Bedi2   120--
Hodgson8   2244--

Northamptonshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Virginlbw b Turner30     
G Cooklbw b Boyce17     
DS Steeleb East32     
*Mushtaq Mohammadc Hardie b East0     
P Willeyc East b Gooch73     
W Larkinsc Gooch b East2     
+G Sharpnot out53     
Sarfraz Nawazc and b East0     
A Hodgsonc Boyce b East1     
BS Bedinot out10     
JCJ Dyedid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 9 lb, 7 nb, 1 w)18
Total(8 wickets, declared, 114 overs)236
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-72, 3-73, 4-131, 5-140, 6-201, 7-206, 8-218
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lever7   460--
Turner31   9501--
Boyce22   5481--
East47   9905--
Gooch7   2241--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BR Hardielbw b Dye36     
MH Dennessc Steele b Hodgson61     
KS McEwanb Willey8     
*KWR Fletchernot out84     
S Turnerb Hodgson2     
GA Goochc Sharp b Bedi2     
KD Boycerun out25     
RE Eastc Mushtaq Mohammad b Sarfraz Nawaz19     
+N Smithc Cook b Mushtaq Mohammad3     
JK Leverlbw b Mushtaq Mohammad4     
DL Acfieldlbw b Bedi6     
Extras(4 lb, 10 nb)14
Total(all out, 109.5 overs)264
Fall of wickets:
1-80, 2-94, 3-133, 4-142, 5-145, 6-170, 7-196, 8-214, 9-224, 10-264 (109.5 ov)
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Sarfraz Nawaz23   7511--
Dye13   5291--
Hodgson19   6512--
Willey15   2411--
Mushtaq Mohammad8   2122--

--> The first innings of the match was limited to 100 overs; the total overs for both teams first innings was limited to 200 overs
--> RT Virgin (2) passed 21000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 16
--> S Turner achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Northamptonshire first innings (previous best was 6-82)
--> DL Acfield reached 350 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings
--> S Turner achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Northamptonshire first innings (previous best was 6-82)
--> JCJ Dye reached 650 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Essex first innings
--> RE East reached 550 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 5th wicket in the Northamptonshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive